Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I can barely taste the orange zest or the lemon juice, but I don't miss them. I made and used all of the syrup called for, and I'm glad I did. The syrup soaked down to the bottom where the walnuts are, and reminded me of baklava, which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this for a greek dinner party I was giving. This was such an easy recipe and tasted so wonderful. There was not a crumb left after the dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I cut the honey syrup in half like suggested, otherwise did not change anything. My sons say, "Honey Cakes Rule!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Light delicate and citrusy I really enjoyed this recipe! I only put half the sugar in the honey syrup and did not pour the entire amount over the cake. I set most of the syrup aside to add later as you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I'm a tough grader -especially on desserts -but this was very good. My parents and I just returned from a trip to Greece, so I decided to do a Greek dinner; my parents loved it. Also, we thought it was better once cooled and great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAGAMOI
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Very tasty! Would be great for brunch as it is a sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAGAMOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This recipe was easy! I increased the amount of cinnamon to 1 tsp. The flavors remind me of baklava. The syrup was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time, I might reduce the amount of honey and sugar in half. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was an excellent and easy cake recipe. I added some vanilla extract in addition to the orange zest. Since different family members like various degrees of sweetness, I spooned 1/4 of the honey syrup onto the warm cake. Once I was ready to serve, a put the rest over syrup in a gravy boat and people added however much more they wanted. I would recommend using orange blossom honey if you can find it; it helped bring out the orange-y perfume of the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was very good. I'm not an experienced sugar/water syrupy type of cook, so I would have liked to know if I made my syrup right. It could have been thicker, and taste like honey more, but it was still an excellent cake. I don't expect the leftovers to hang around very long. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Wasn't sure if I had done it right with the puddling of honey at the bottom but a Greek woman where I work said it's exactly how it's suppose to be. I cut it into thin slice (any bigger is too much) and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLYBERRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States