Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was nice and yummy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I really like this recipe. Easier than baklava and has a flavor of it's own. It is a smallish, moist, dense cake, but that works well because it is quite rich. I made it a day ahead. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers to double the cinnamon and add a pinch of nutmeg. I also took the suggestion to eliminate the sugar from the glaze one step further and (subbed orange blossom honey for regular) heated in the microwave for 30 seconds and then drizzled it straight from the bottle onto the individual pieces. It worked well as then people were able decide for themselves how much they wanted and it was easy for me to prep and clean up. Definitely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this cake for my daughter's school project "Greek Food Day". As usual she gave me NO notice that this project was due "tomorrow" so I had no time to make Baklava and I needed something in a hurry. It worked out well because I had all the ingredients except walnuts on hand, so I omitted nuts altogether. I used fresh orange zest and it gave the cake a heavenly flavor especially with the cinnamon! I didn't have a full cup of honey so I cut the glaze recipe in half. As it turned out, the full glaze recipe would've been way too much and half was just right. I took the advice of another reviewer and didn't boil the glaze...seems strange to boil honey... and I just simmered it until the white sugar had dissolved. I was a little disappointed in how small the cake was... it didn't rise much at all which was surprising since this little 9-inch cake calls for THREE eggs, baking powder and salt. Aside from that, it was a good cake and the kids loved it. I don't know that I'll make it again, but it was very good for what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Exactly, Josie. This is good, but certainly not a replacement for Baklava - though it is slightly reminiscent. Didn't have oranges, so omitted the zest. Upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp. It is worth trying, but not enough to warrant a place in the paper recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was great. I didn't have enough honey, so I substituted 1/2 cup light karo syrup, and reduced the amount of water to 1/3 cup. I found the flavor to be just perfect, as it didn't have an overwhelming honey taste.It was nice and delicate, and I will make it again (and again) with these small adjustments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I loved this dessert! With the syrup, it was extremely moist and had an acidic taste. It tasted rather like baklava, but was far easier to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was good and fun to try. It was a little too sweet for me, but it did remind me of Baklava, so I might make it once and a while. It was better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made it several times, and I usually double the cinnamon and add a dash of nutmeg. Sometimes (I'm an idiot) I begin assembling and forget that i don't have an orange. In this case, I substitute orange juice for the milk. Not quite as good but still delicious! Definately half the sugar/honey/water at the end, though. This is a dessert I crave frequently. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe for this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekgirrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I can barely taste the orange zest or the lemon juice, but I don't miss them. I made and used all of the syrup called for, and I'm glad I did. The syrup soaked down to the bottom where the walnuts are, and reminded me of baklava, which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States