Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
It was kinda dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was sooo good. I made it for my Greek class and everyone asked for the recipe. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amanda04
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
this came out just as amazing as I thought it would! I added lemon zest instead of orange. I cut the syrup recipe by half and I used mostly honey and about a quarter of the white sugar. Added like 2-3 tablespoons of lemon juice to the syrup and it is just amazing!!!!! I used a round pan and it looks just like the main picture :) this will be made OFTEN!!! I just ate 4 pieces!! ***** This is an update!! this third time making this I decided to use honey instead of the sugar in the cake itself since the name is Honey Cake, not granulated sugar cake... it was so moist from this that I didn't need to add the milk. For the syrup I used about a cup of honey with like 5 tablespoons (a splash) of orange juice and one tablespoon of sugar and it is so good!! the best one yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
A TRULY DECADENT DESSERT. I would cut down on the honey, almost by half. I had pecans on hand and it works just as well as walnuts. Great for dinner parties or gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Definitely halve the sauce. Even with a double dose it was very tasty, but too sweet for me. Rave reviews from the greek part of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My husband loves this recipe as he has a sweet tooth, but after the first cake I halved the syrup recipe with a quarter of the sugar and it is still delicious. I place the cake on a cake cooler and then pour the syrup over it so it does not soak up the excess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
really excellent - I was happily surprised at how lovely this turned out. I only added the cup of honey lemon juice but no water or sugar plus this made it light and not too sweet. I didn't have any nuts but will add them when I make again (which I am going to do this Monday) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
wow. what can i say about this cake? it was amazing. i made it for thanskgiving dinner and everyone loved it. i did take the suggestion to double the cinnamon and half the syurp. it was wonderful, though i didn't think it was all the cake like, more like something you'd see in a coffee house. however it was so good i had to recomend it my uncle to make for his caffe, caffe ladro. thanks for the marvalous recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I halved the honey syrup and still found this dessert to be disgustingly sweet. It's like eating sponge that sopped up pure sugar water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Very delicious! It's like a baklava cake. I also reduced the amount of syrup by half and was perfect. I think it would have been too sweet otherwise. I used lemon zest on the batter instead of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States