Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
My son made these for Greek Day at school. Not even a crumb was left. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
we loved this. didn't use the orange zest, but otherwise made exactly per recipe. taste similar to baklava. only used half the honey syrup, was just too much in quantity and too sweet. will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
WOE!! Great cake!! I love how the honey syrup is soak into this cake. I was excited about learning how to prepare a Greek dish. It almost reminds me of a banana nut bread, but alot more enhanced. At first I thought it was too sweet, but when I allow the syrup to soak long enough in the cake, I begined to enjoy it alot more. Looking forward to making it for family and friend in the future. Thanks alot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was a very sweet, moist and delicious cake. It is better the next day. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
very nice... used half of syrup as suggested by others and very happy with results... still very moist and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
4 stars because I changed the recipe a bit. I took the suggestion of another cook and halved the syrup on top (1/2 of the honey, none of the sugar, and did not heat up), and poured it over when the cake was warm. YUM!! YUM!! This cake was very tasty and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was great. The only modification I made was not adding any sugar to the cake. The syrup is enough sweetener. The trick with this is you have to make it enough in advance to allow the syrup to be absorbed into the cake. This is NOT baklava, nor is it trying to be. A lot of Greek desserts have both walnuts and honey in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Thank you, CALIFORNIADREAMING...I'm the submitter of this recipe, and THIS ISN'T A SUBSTITUTE FOR BAKLAVA (which is a pastry, not a cake). It's a Greek cake called Karithopeta, which is a walnut cake. The cake is supposed to soak up the syrup...you can buy it at almost any Greek food festival...it's meant to be very sweet & very moist. I'm happy that so many people are enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Some of the reviews ridiculously subtracted points for not being a "substitute for baklava". It's not intended to be and the submitter never said that it was. Those that use whole wheat flour in this recipe should expect different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This cake is very good, but also very sweet. It smelled so delicious baking in the oven that I couldn't wait to try a piece, but I suspect it will be better in the morning after it has cooled and the glaze soaks all the way into the cake. My only substitute was pecans for the walnuts...not authentic for baklava but it was all I had in the cupboard. I might try cutting out a little of the sugar in the glaze next time, although I suspect it will still be very sweet with all the honey. Very tasty though, and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States