Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Excellent, just like my Lebanese friend serves at her restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
The only thing that makes this recipe even better is a little Feta cheese sprinkled on at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We love this recipe - we do however add diced tomatoes with green chilis - to spice it up and as another person suggested we saute the onions and garlic and spices in olive oil (plus a little butter) before adding to the tomato mixture. Everyone loves it - even our 4 year old son!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is very much like one of my favorite recipes (just like Mom's). I use much less oil, and saute onions (1 small, chopped) and garlic (2 or 3 cloves). Then I add salt, pepper, and a ton of oregano, and when the onions are soft and clear, I add the green beans. Once they're soft-ish, I add 1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes and let it cook. Then add a handful of sugar. After awhile, take the lid off to allow the sauce to condense. And that's about it. My favorite side ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dory Rose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Another bean favourite in our house. I don't use that much oil and I peel the tomatoes before dicing. Canned tomatoes work well too. I add fresh parsley, oregano and a sprinkle of hot chili flakes. And of course the feta and crusty bread is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I normally fall in love with every Greek recipe I try, this one was just okay. I basically followed the ingredients as states except I added 1/4 cup of oil rather then the 3/4 cup called for. No way was I adding that much oil. I added some oregano to give it more of a kick. Tasted good with pita and tzatziki though, just no real wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was very tasty, and even the picky eaters in the family ate it. Next time, I will try adding oregano as other reviewers suggested, but it was already very good without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Good. Perfect for using up green beans and tomatos from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Didn't like the taste of these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I love Greek cooking so I was excited to try this recipe - it didn't disappoint! I did add some tomato paste as my hothouse tomatoes were rather anemic. I also added oregano. Crumbled feta on top completed this delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States