Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent. 3-18-13: Ann says she likes it this time, but not the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Follow the advice of Pureshores and add a lot of fresh parsley about 1/2 cup or a smaller amount of dried parsley when adding the tomatoes. Cut the the sugar to 1/2 tsp or possibly 3/4tsp. You can use a small can of diced tomatoes if you do not have any fresh tomatoes. You may need to add a little water because typically the beans will not be soft in 45 mins. It depends on the beans but a few times I had to cook them for 1 1/2 hrs to get them as soft as they are typically served in Greece. You can use frozen beans too. You will need about 1/2 -1 can of water to cook until soft. Serve with a slab of feta and some crusty artesan bread and you have a typical Greek peasant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Used canned tomatoes and frozen green beans. Cooked in crockpot for 3 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
green beans and tomatoes: the essence of summer, served over a bed of wild rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I watched an authentic Yaya make this once and she put a plate over the beans to squish them all down into the cooking liquid. At the end, the beans should look extremely soft; no longer any crispness. Because they are saturated with delicious sauce instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I loved these. I added about 3/4 cup of chicken broth and only cooked it about half the time and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this! the only changes I made were to use a 16 oz can of stewed tomatoes with juices that I chopped. (good fresh tomatoes were not in season) I also added a little chicken stock to add a little more moisture since it had to cook for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I'm not a big fan of green beans, but I loved these! Used canned beans, a can of tomatoes w/onion & garlic + 2 small onions and garlic. Omitted the salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Oh my goodness. Tastes like home! I could eat fasolakia (as we call it) every day. I was tempted to add sliced potatoes, but I will do that next time. This time I followed to the letter, except I upped the garlic to 5 cloves, used an extra tomato, and added about 1/4 of broth (I would have liked to use white wine, but had none). I simmered the beans for a solid hour, maybe an hour + 10 min. Also sprinkled a generous amount of parsley. What a nectar the sauce became... I could hear my Greek father's voice telling me to soak it all up with bread. And this dish is not complete with a big chunk of feta cheese on the side. Delicious! But for those who omit the sugar, beware--it serves the purpose of balancing the acidity of the tomatoes. Just a little goes a long way. I actually cut out 1/2 a tsp from the recipe, and it was just right. Yaya would be proud!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I didn't measure anything, but using the ingredients these greens beans taste similar to the kind i've had at greek restaurants. The trick is to cook the beans all the way down until tender. I added a little less than 1 tsp vinegar. I also sauteed the onions in oil before adding them to the already boiling green beans. I think the only thing that could improve these beans is cooking them in a little chicken broth. Otherwise, very good. Also, I was concerned about the sugar but it added something very subtle and good to the dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States