Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Absolutely delicious! However, I did decrease the oil to 1/4 cup as it seemed excessive to me. Although this dish tasted great, I was a little disappointed with the appearance - after cooking for so long both the green beans and the tomatoes lost too much color for me. I added about a tbsp. of tomato paste to boost the tomato flavor. Next time I will cook the "sauce" for a while and toss in some steamed green beans to see if they retain their bright green color. Appearance was the only thing holding me back from giving this one 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These green beans were very good. Would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I've cooked green beans this way many times but haven't had it in ages - thanks for rreminding me of this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I love beans, and this is a fantastic way to eat them. Thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This recipe was great! We all loved every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was a nice way to use frozen green beans from the garden. My husband said he would like to try this recipe again with green beans straight from the garden, not frozen. We used petite diced canned tomatoes for convenience...no fresh tomatoes on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I was looking for a health way to eat green beans and found this recipe. I made a couple of adjustments to the recipe. I used only 1 tsp of Olive oil and added fennel seed, ground mustard and crusted red pepper. It was very tasty and something that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I don't love green beans, but I loved them in this recipe. I would only clarify that if you cover the dish while it's simmering, it will cook faster. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Jacobs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Good recipe, however, in Greece we tend to sautee the diced onions in oil first and add some crushed parsley. Then add the green beans, and tomato juice with diced tomatoes, for 5 minutes. (salt&pepper) Then add water just enough to cover the green beans and boil for 50 minutes till the sauce is thick. This makes the green beans softer. Serve with feta cheese and bread for that extra something! Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I loved this recipe; wonderfully simple and so very tasty. I also added oregano like another reviewer stated and used canned tomatoes. Make sure to have some crusty bread on hand to soak up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States