Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is very much like one of my favorite recipes (just like Mom's). I use much less oil, and saute onions (1 small, chopped) and garlic (2 or 3 cloves). Then I add salt, pepper, and a ton of oregano, and when the onions are soft and clear, I add the green beans. Once they're soft-ish, I add 1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes and let it cook. Then add a handful of sugar. After awhile, take the lid off to allow the sauce to condense. And that's about it. My favorite side ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dory Rose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Another bean favourite in our house. I don't use that much oil and I peel the tomatoes before dicing. Canned tomatoes work well too. I add fresh parsley, oregano and a sprinkle of hot chili flakes. And of course the feta and crusty bread is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I normally fall in love with every Greek recipe I try, this one was just okay. I basically followed the ingredients as states except I added 1/4 cup of oil rather then the 3/4 cup called for. No way was I adding that much oil. I added some oregano to give it more of a kick. Tasted good with pita and tzatziki though, just no real wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was very tasty, and even the picky eaters in the family ate it. Next time, I will try adding oregano as other reviewers suggested, but it was already very good without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Good. Perfect for using up green beans and tomatos from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Didn't like the taste of these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I love Greek cooking so I was excited to try this recipe - it didn't disappoint! I did add some tomato paste as my hothouse tomatoes were rather anemic. I also added oregano. Crumbled feta on top completed this delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Absolutely delicious! However, I did decrease the oil to 1/4 cup as it seemed excessive to me. Although this dish tasted great, I was a little disappointed with the appearance - after cooking for so long both the green beans and the tomatoes lost too much color for me. I added about a tbsp. of tomato paste to boost the tomato flavor. Next time I will cook the "sauce" for a while and toss in some steamed green beans to see if they retain their bright green color. Appearance was the only thing holding me back from giving this one 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These green beans were very good. Would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I've cooked green beans this way many times but haven't had it in ages - thanks for rreminding me of this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States