Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
What an easy and tasty recipe. I could eat these as a meal all alone. As it was, had them with marinated portabello and quinoa. Picky meat-eating son even said they were "really good". I left off the sugar and used a mix of fresh/canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was an interesting way to snaz up the frozen green beans I had in my freezer. I used diced tomatoes (15 oz can) instead of fresh, and omitted the salt and sugar. Tasted great with the gyro burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is fantastic! I cut the recipe in half and used 2 small roma tomatoes, other than that, it was not tweaked...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I have to change my review a bit: I agree with the other reviewer, the onions should sweat a little before cooking the beans. You should use two small onions, 4 ripe tomatoes, and a whole head of sliced garlice for these beans -- one clove is definitely not enouh. A note to the other reviewers that do not like this recipe after cutting back on the oil - the name of this recipe in Greek translates to "Oily Beans." You must add the oil to get the flavor, then do not transfer the oil to the plate when serving. This dish must also rest for a period of hours to meld the flavors - as with most Greek dishes. Parsley should be added and the addition of oregano is a big no no. This is a main course, typically served with feta cheese and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a keeper! I cheated too as I used canned tomatoes but it turned out so good. Next time I will cut back on the oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
not bad but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
simple, quick and yummy. What more can I say? This is a very nice recipe for a fast, healthy dinner over rice. The only change I made was to add a can of diced tomatoes, since I had no fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Excellent, just like my Lebanese friend serves at her restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
The only thing that makes this recipe even better is a little Feta cheese sprinkled on at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We love this recipe - we do however add diced tomatoes with green chilis - to spice it up and as another person suggested we saute the onions and garlic and spices in olive oil (plus a little butter) before adding to the tomato mixture. Everyone loves it - even our 4 year old son!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States