Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! I thought that the beans may become limp cooking for so long but after 45 minutes they were perfect. I added about 1/3 cup of feta on top of the beans and put the lid back on the skillet to melt it. This was the added touch that it needed to become over the top perfect. Thanks for posting such a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Love it. I did add oregano, parsley and liquid just to cover the beans as other reviewers suggested. (im not sure how they can cook so long with no liquid but the original recipe doesnt include any ??) This was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Delicious green beans! I love the greek style green beans at a local restaurant, so was excited to try this recipie. Texture is perfect! Used can tomatoes and turned out great! Great go to dish year round! made them on a cool summer evening and they were great. Paired with roasted chicken and potatoes, but see how they would be just fine on their own. thank you soo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
We absolutely loved this. I could eat it every day! I did add more garlic (3 cloves) and cut back on the oil a bit--didn't measure, just poured...probably about 1/3 cup. And I had 2 tablespoons of bacon drippings and added that with the olive oil. We don't have fresh tomatoes yet, so I used a jar of no salt added tomato puree instead. My onion was a sweet one, so I added only a pinch of sugar. I had just picked 2 pounds of fresh romano beans from my garden when I found this recipe. Now I can't wait for my next harvest of them so I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Easy and very tasty-- perfect side dish to any Mediterranean main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent. 3-18-13: Ann says she likes it this time, but not the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Follow the advice of Pureshores and add a lot of fresh parsley about 1/2 cup or a smaller amount of dried parsley when adding the tomatoes. Cut the the sugar to 1/2 tsp or possibly 3/4tsp. You can use a small can of diced tomatoes if you do not have any fresh tomatoes. You may need to add a little water because typically the beans will not be soft in 45 mins. It depends on the beans but a few times I had to cook them for 1 1/2 hrs to get them as soft as they are typically served in Greece. You can use frozen beans too. You will need about 1/2 -1 can of water to cook until soft. Serve with a slab of feta and some crusty artesan bread and you have a typical Greek peasant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Used canned tomatoes and frozen green beans. Cooked in crockpot for 3 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
green beans and tomatoes: the essence of summer, served over a bed of wild rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States