Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
OMG! These are so good! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Tasted like this needed something. It was just okay. Everyone finished it but felt like it was just meh. I've made these again with a few changes and upped the stars. First, I completely cheated. I didn't have fresh green beans so used a can of French cut green beans and used red onions. I also sprinkled in a little Mediterranean Basil (dried). My husband's eyes rolled in the back of his head with the first bite. This will now go in the rotation more frequently. I think the BIG difference were the onions not the canned beans. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Great dish! I was lookig for a vegan dish for a school event, when I came across this one. After reading the reviews and comments, I decided to try it. I know that, as an authentic Greek dish, the beans are supposed to "float" in olive oil, but I still decided to cut the oil down to 2 tablespoons. I added some parsley to the onions, and a tablespoon of tomato paste for color. Last, I added about one tablespoon of lime juice to the beans before I added them to the dish, to maintain the nice green color (I used frozen green beans), and some black pepper to taste. Came out just wonderful, thanks for the recipe! I will make this more often, perhaps adding diced egg plant, potatoes, or sliced mushrooms for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! I thought that the beans may become limp cooking for so long but after 45 minutes they were perfect. I added about 1/3 cup of feta on top of the beans and put the lid back on the skillet to melt it. This was the added touch that it needed to become over the top perfect. Thanks for posting such a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Love it. I did add oregano, parsley and liquid just to cover the beans as other reviewers suggested. (im not sure how they can cook so long with no liquid but the original recipe doesnt include any ??) This was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Delicious green beans! I love the greek style green beans at a local restaurant, so was excited to try this recipie. Texture is perfect! Used can tomatoes and turned out great! Great go to dish year round! made them on a cool summer evening and they were great. Paired with roasted chicken and potatoes, but see how they would be just fine on their own. thank you soo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
We absolutely loved this. I could eat it every day! I did add more garlic (3 cloves) and cut back on the oil a bit--didn't measure, just poured...probably about 1/3 cup. And I had 2 tablespoons of bacon drippings and added that with the olive oil. We don't have fresh tomatoes yet, so I used a jar of no salt added tomato puree instead. My onion was a sweet one, so I added only a pinch of sugar. I had just picked 2 pounds of fresh romano beans from my garden when I found this recipe. Now I can't wait for my next harvest of them so I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Easy and very tasty-- perfect side dish to any Mediterranean main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent. 3-18-13: Ann says she likes it this time, but not the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States