Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Good recipe, however, in Greece we tend to sautee the diced onions in oil first and add some crushed parsley. Then add the green beans, and tomato juice with diced tomatoes, for 5 minutes. (salt&pepper) Then add water just enough to cover the green beans and boil for 50 minutes till the sauce is thick. This makes the green beans softer. Serve with feta cheese and bread for that extra something! Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This is a GREAT side dish. I used canned tomatoes. I added more garlic and garlic salt, along with some Oregano. My husband is Greek and adding the Oregano makes it more like the green beans we have been served at Greek restaurants, weddings etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Oh my goodness. Tastes like home! I could eat fasolakia (as we call it) every day. I was tempted to add sliced potatoes, but I will do that next time. This time I followed to the letter, except I upped the garlic to 5 cloves, used an extra tomato, and added about 1/4 of broth (I would have liked to use white wine, but had none). I simmered the beans for a solid hour, maybe an hour + 10 min. Also sprinkled a generous amount of parsley. What a nectar the sauce became... I could hear my Greek father's voice telling me to soak it all up with bread. And this dish is not complete with a big chunk of feta cheese on the side. Delicious! But for those who omit the sugar, beware--it serves the purpose of balancing the acidity of the tomatoes. Just a little goes a long way. I actually cut out 1/2 a tsp from the recipe, and it was just right. Yaya would be proud!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mobychic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This dish reminds me of my grandma's cooking. It's one of those classic Greek vegetarian dishes that tastes better the next day (after all the flavours have blended). In Greece it would be eaten at room temperature. I love to crumble some Feta on top and eat it as a main course with some crusty bread to sop up the juices. With a glass of dry white wine, what could be better? Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I love the idea of this recipe. I even use it with a can of green beans. I use a small amount of evoo and add onions, tomato, and sugar to taste. I let them soften and add a can of green beans to heat. Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
My sister had some extra green beans that a friend gave her so I made this recipe. I did add more garlic because I love garlic and I also added some Oregano as another reviewer suggested. This was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I'm not a big fan of green beans, but I loved these! Used canned beans, a can of tomatoes w/onion & garlic + 2 small onions and garlic. Omitted the salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
These were QUITE tasty! I made it easier on myself, I'll have to confess. I used two cans of green beans (drained) and two cans of diced tomatoes (partially drained)and followed the recipe from there. It was excellent. Yes, that's a lot of olive oil but you can use a slotted spoon to serve. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We love this recipe - we do however add diced tomatoes with green chilis - to spice it up and as another person suggested we saute the onions and garlic and spices in olive oil (plus a little butter) before adding to the tomato mixture. Everyone loves it - even our 4 year old son!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I loved these. I added about 3/4 cup of chicken broth and only cooked it about half the time and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States