Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
simple, quick and yummy. What more can I say? This is a very nice recipe for a fast, healthy dinner over rice. The only change I made was to add a can of diced tomatoes, since I had no fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Excellent, just like my Lebanese friend serves at her restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
The only thing that makes this recipe even better is a little Feta cheese sprinkled on at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We love this recipe - we do however add diced tomatoes with green chilis - to spice it up and as another person suggested we saute the onions and garlic and spices in olive oil (plus a little butter) before adding to the tomato mixture. Everyone loves it - even our 4 year old son!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is very much like one of my favorite recipes (just like Mom's). I use much less oil, and saute onions (1 small, chopped) and garlic (2 or 3 cloves). Then I add salt, pepper, and a ton of oregano, and when the onions are soft and clear, I add the green beans. Once they're soft-ish, I add 1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes and let it cook. Then add a handful of sugar. After awhile, take the lid off to allow the sauce to condense. And that's about it. My favorite side ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dory Rose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Another bean favourite in our house. I don't use that much oil and I peel the tomatoes before dicing. Canned tomatoes work well too. I add fresh parsley, oregano and a sprinkle of hot chili flakes. And of course the feta and crusty bread is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I normally fall in love with every Greek recipe I try, this one was just okay. I basically followed the ingredients as states except I added 1/4 cup of oil rather then the 3/4 cup called for. No way was I adding that much oil. I added some oregano to give it more of a kick. Tasted good with pita and tzatziki though, just no real wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was very tasty, and even the picky eaters in the family ate it. Next time, I will try adding oregano as other reviewers suggested, but it was already very good without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Good. Perfect for using up green beans and tomatos from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Didn't like the taste of these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States