Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this! the only changes I made were to use a 16 oz can of stewed tomatoes with juices that I chopped. (good fresh tomatoes were not in season) I also added a little chicken stock to add a little more moisture since it had to cook for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I'm not a big fan of green beans, but I loved these! Used canned beans, a can of tomatoes w/onion & garlic + 2 small onions and garlic. Omitted the salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Oh my goodness. Tastes like home! I could eat fasolakia (as we call it) every day. I was tempted to add sliced potatoes, but I will do that next time. This time I followed to the letter, except I upped the garlic to 5 cloves, used an extra tomato, and added about 1/4 of broth (I would have liked to use white wine, but had none). I simmered the beans for a solid hour, maybe an hour + 10 min. Also sprinkled a generous amount of parsley. What a nectar the sauce became... I could hear my Greek father's voice telling me to soak it all up with bread. And this dish is not complete with a big chunk of feta cheese on the side. Delicious! But for those who omit the sugar, beware--it serves the purpose of balancing the acidity of the tomatoes. Just a little goes a long way. I actually cut out 1/2 a tsp from the recipe, and it was just right. Yaya would be proud!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mobychic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I didn't measure anything, but using the ingredients these greens beans taste similar to the kind i've had at greek restaurants. The trick is to cook the beans all the way down until tender. I added a little less than 1 tsp vinegar. I also sauteed the onions in oil before adding them to the already boiling green beans. I think the only thing that could improve these beans is cooking them in a little chicken broth. Otherwise, very good. Also, I was concerned about the sugar but it added something very subtle and good to the dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These are my new favorite way to have green beans. I didn't have fresh green beans so I used a can of organic french cut style green beans. I didn't add salt or sugar. Just seems odd to have sugar on green beans. I did sprinkle on some organic garlic powder. I cooked in the onions in the olive oil first, then added in the tomatoes as I diced them. I diced the tomato into small and medium sized pieces. After all the tomatoes were in, I added in the can of organic green beans. I drained all the water in the can before adding them in. Only took about five minutes after that and it was done. They turned out delicious. I'll definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Amazing recipe. Cook beans until soft, the longer the better. I cook for up to 1 1/2 hrs! DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Good, but a little too much olive oil for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
What an easy and tasty recipe. I could eat these as a meal all alone. As it was, had them with marinated portabello and quinoa. Picky meat-eating son even said they were "really good". I left off the sugar and used a mix of fresh/canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was an interesting way to snaz up the frozen green beans I had in my freezer. I used diced tomatoes (15 oz can) instead of fresh, and omitted the salt and sugar. Tasted great with the gyro burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is fantastic! I cut the recipe in half and used 2 small roma tomatoes, other than that, it was not tweaked...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States