Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Forgot to mention in my previous review just a few minutes ago ... it may be called "Greek" green beans but could just as easily be called "Italian", since that is what mama was and who taught me to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Made this a few nights ago exactly as written. It was really delicious. Thankfully there was some left over for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
OMG! These are so good! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Tasted like this needed something. It was just okay. Everyone finished it but felt like it was just meh. I've made these again with a few changes and upped the stars. First, I completely cheated. I didn't have fresh green beans so used a can of French cut green beans and used red onions. I also sprinkled in a little Mediterranean Basil (dried). My husband's eyes rolled in the back of his head with the first bite. This will now go in the rotation more frequently. I think the BIG difference were the onions not the canned beans. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Great dish! I was lookig for a vegan dish for a school event, when I came across this one. After reading the reviews and comments, I decided to try it. I know that, as an authentic Greek dish, the beans are supposed to "float" in olive oil, but I still decided to cut the oil down to 2 tablespoons. I added some parsley to the onions, and a tablespoon of tomato paste for color. Last, I added about one tablespoon of lime juice to the beans before I added them to the dish, to maintain the nice green color (I used frozen green beans), and some black pepper to taste. Came out just wonderful, thanks for the recipe! I will make this more often, perhaps adding diced egg plant, potatoes, or sliced mushrooms for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! I thought that the beans may become limp cooking for so long but after 45 minutes they were perfect. I added about 1/3 cup of feta on top of the beans and put the lid back on the skillet to melt it. This was the added touch that it needed to become over the top perfect. Thanks for posting such a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Love it. I did add oregano, parsley and liquid just to cover the beans as other reviewers suggested. (im not sure how they can cook so long with no liquid but the original recipe doesnt include any ??) This was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Delicious green beans! I love the greek style green beans at a local restaurant, so was excited to try this recipie. Texture is perfect! Used can tomatoes and turned out great! Great go to dish year round! made them on a cool summer evening and they were great. Paired with roasted chicken and potatoes, but see how they would be just fine on their own. thank you soo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I first made this dish several years ago, and I have made it more times than I can count since then. It's a favorite of mine, and I never tire of it. I still add more garlic (usually about 3 cloves), and I always use either fresh (my own Romano ones are best) or frozen if it's winter. Please, I beg you...don't use canned--it is NOT the same flavor. You want those beans to cook until they soften, and they become so sweet and meltingly tender you won't believe it. This is not the time to go crisp-tender. I always use sweet onion, and I don't add the sugar, and unless it's the height of summer, and my tomatoes are in, I usually use high quality, fire roasted whole ones that I crush by hand. Sometimes, I add a touch of bacon grease if I have it on hand, and I don't usually use the whole amount of olive oil. But I DO recommend you be generous with it...it really does make a difference. Smoked paprika is also great in these. Bottom line, this is one of the best vegetable dishes ever, so grab some beans and a pot, and get cooking! This tastes best slightly warm or room temp to me. A loaf of crusty bread to soak up those lovely juices and a hunk of salty cheese, and I've got the perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States