Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I took this to work, as one co-worker is vegetarian. Everyone raved about the salad. Three minor adjustments: I added a whole (6oz) carton of herb feta cheese, used a small can of olives and added 1/2 chopped green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was a big hit. I now know what I'll be bringing to BBQs this summer. I took the advice of others and halved the olives and increased the feta to 3 oz or so. I also added 1tsp of dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
Good salad. I recommend adding more feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
What this recipe might lack in imagination and creativity is more than made up for in taste and presentation. I feel for any recipe submitter who has no choice but to list strict amounts of ingredients when that may or may not be their intent. Therefore, I'm sure the submitter would agree to add any ingredients, including the amount of dressing, to taste rather than specific measurements - which is what I did. I used my own lemon vinaigrette for the dressing which for my tastes is infinitely preferable to the "in" balsamic vinaigrettes. Other than that I used the ingredients as called for in the recipe with no additions or omissions save for some chopped parsley, although the leftover rotisserie chicken I have in the fridge looks like a promising addition for lunch today. Classic, light and refreshing, can't-go-wrong, good-for-you salad at a fraction of the cost you'd pay for it in your deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Super with even some of the ingredients! I only added the cucumbers and substituted green onions for the red onion. Didn't have any feta...but I'm sure it would be great! I was surprised and glad that the cucumbers didn't go soggy overnight in the dressing. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Really easy, kept well, tasty too-- I think anything with feta cheese and garbanzos is great, and the italian dressing was a great idea! Thanks =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
yummy!! i didn't have garbonzo beans so used black beans, and extra feta of course. i think any bean would be good in this. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I did my best to cut this recipe in half. I did end up adding in more cherry tomatoes and feta cheese. I used a homemade dressing for this salad which had garlic in it, so I did not add the garlic called for in this recipe. I made this early this morning as I wanted the salad to sit in the fridge until lunch. I thought this was one of the best tossed salads I've had in quite some time. One serving of this was quite filling and very satisfying. I'll make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Wow! Tangy and tasty! This salad really adds some zip to a meal. I added extra feta. My husband loved it too. Keeps well in the fridge over a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This was sooo yummy. The only changes I made was to increase the amount of feta cheese and I used a creamy italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States