Greek Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This dish was great. I have made something similar before with orzo instead of couscous but couscous is outstanding and looks very pretty on the plate. I did use whole wheat couscous, and because it is dark the other ingredients didn't stand out as much. Regardless, it was pretty to look at and delicious. I also used all chicken broth (3/4 cup) , no water. As is, this is a very light lunch but if you cook some chicken breasts strips on the side seasoned with salt and pepper you can make this a more filling dinner entree. I say "salt and pepper" because the flavors in this couscous are complex enough and a heavy seasoned chicken might be a bit too much. Of course, it depends on your own personal taste and that of your family. Opa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My family enjoyed this. I made a few changes to appeal to the 12 and 10 year olds: skipped the olives, but added some finely diced red pepper which gave it a nice crunch. Also, I didn't have garbanzo beans, and used black beans instead. Overall, a nice, healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I doubled the recipe so that I would have enough to bring for lunches this week. I used all chicken broth instead of some water because I did not want to waste the rest of the can. I also only used a can of garbanzo beans, which was a little scant, because I didn't want to open a second for another ounce of beans. The results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Super easy to make. The flavors are great and it's light and refreshing. I used a sweet pepper instead of sun-dried tomatoes and I left out the olives. I added a little extra lemon juice also. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
if this has chicken broth in it then it's not vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
mmm, the perfect side dish to a baked salmon and spinach dish. I followed one of the reviews and omitted the water and replaced it with more chicken broth. I also used whole wheat couscous and since I didn't have sundried tomatoes, I just used some homegrown tomatoes I had dehydrated. Absolutely delicious and I'm eating a bowl of leftovers right now. :) Next time I might add just a touch more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
really delicious! added grilled chicken for a light main dish. will definately make again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is delicious. Looking at the ingredients I knew we would like it, but I had no idea just how well it would come together. I used a full can of chickpeas and added more feta. Amazingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Fantastic for a healthy lunch. Used veggie broth rather than chicken broth (since I'm a vegetarian) and left out the olives (don't like them), but other than that I stuck to the recipe and my family loved it. The "dressing" is quite good, the flavors come together very nicely. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Healthy and addicting! I followed the recipe exactly but left the olives out since my boyfriend hates them. This was delicious without the olives but when I added the olives (minced) to eat the leftovers for lunch...WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States