Greek Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This dish was great. I have made something similar before with orzo instead of couscous but couscous is outstanding and looks very pretty on the plate. I did use whole wheat couscous, and because it is dark the other ingredients didn't stand out as much. Regardless, it was pretty to look at and delicious. I also used all chicken broth (3/4 cup) , no water. As is, this is a very light lunch but if you cook some chicken breasts strips on the side seasoned with salt and pepper you can make this a more filling dinner entree. I say "salt and pepper" because the flavors in this couscous are complex enough and a heavy seasoned chicken might be a bit too much. Of course, it depends on your own personal taste and that of your family. Opa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My family enjoyed this. I made a few changes to appeal to the 12 and 10 year olds: skipped the olives, but added some finely diced red pepper which gave it a nice crunch. Also, I didn't have garbanzo beans, and used black beans instead. Overall, a nice, healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I doubled the recipe so that I would have enough to bring for lunches this week. I used all chicken broth instead of some water because I did not want to waste the rest of the can. I also only used a can of garbanzo beans, which was a little scant, because I didn't want to open a second for another ounce of beans. The results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
if this has chicken broth in it then it's not vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Super easy to make. The flavors are great and it's light and refreshing. I used a sweet pepper instead of sun-dried tomatoes and I left out the olives. I added a little extra lemon juice also. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
mmm, the perfect side dish to a baked salmon and spinach dish. I followed one of the reviews and omitted the water and replaced it with more chicken broth. I also used whole wheat couscous and since I didn't have sundried tomatoes, I just used some homegrown tomatoes I had dehydrated. Absolutely delicious and I'm eating a bowl of leftovers right now. :) Next time I might add just a touch more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
really delicious! added grilled chicken for a light main dish. will definately make again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is delicious. Looking at the ingredients I knew we would like it, but I had no idea just how well it would come together. I used a full can of chickpeas and added more feta. Amazingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Fantastic for a healthy lunch. Used veggie broth rather than chicken broth (since I'm a vegetarian) and left out the olives (don't like them), but other than that I stuck to the recipe and my family loved it. The "dressing" is quite good, the flavors come together very nicely. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Healthy and addicting! I followed the recipe exactly but left the olives out since my boyfriend hates them. This was delicious without the olives but when I added the olives (minced) to eat the leftovers for lunch...WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States