Greek Chicken Stew (Stifado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made a handful of times now and always turns out great. I don't have to change much since I keep most of the ingredients on hand. Once our meat rabbits start kindling I look forward to trying it with rabbit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Hated for the meal to come to an end. Really good. Did as some suggested -- less olive oil, more wine, oregano to taste and had to use a can of tomatoes rather than tomato sauce because I assumed there was some in the cupboard. Served over rice. My husband really enjoyed it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
A good base recipe, however I made some additions per the suggestions of other reviewers. Used 6 boneless/skinless breasts, cut in half, as that's what I had on hand (also, I seasoned the chicken with salt/pepper). Used a bit less oil, probably 1/2 cup, 4 teaspoons oregano, doubled the wine, used half prepared pasta sauce, half diced tomatoes in juice (I doubled it and added cornstarch to thicken, but it was really saucy). Added probably 8 or so garlic cloves, didn't have shallots so I used a combo of yellow/purple onions, slivered. I also added about a teaspoon of basil, and probably about a teaspoon salt, maybe 1/2 teaspoon pepper. I served this over white rice cooked with a bit of olive oil and salt. All in all, I guess it strayed from the Greek ideal, but it got rave reviews, even from picky teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this last night and loved it granted I did not follow the recipe exactly. I tend to go a little overboard with the spices that said I will def. use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe that my family keeps requesting. I use boneless half breasts and cut each into three or four large chunks. And then the oil... first time I made it, I used the full cup and it was an oily, gloppy mess. I used 1/4 cup the next time. Then 2 tablespoons after that. Last night, I used just a drizzle on the bottom of the pan and it was perfect. You do not need all that oil for this recipe. Flavors are amazing once you get that oil out of the way, very light and fresh. I saw no need to boost the flavors with any extra ingredients. The braising of the chicken leaves it very moist. I serve with white or brown rice and toasted pitas to soak up all the broth. My tween loves it and he is way picky. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this for my family and served it with white rice. Everyone loved it. I cut the olive oil in half and used a little more chicken broth. The next time I will bone the chicken legs and thighs at my wife's behest. She also had me remove all the skin from the final product, which is healthy, but the skin is really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This sounds like it would be great but it really is bland. I doubled the wine and sliced the shallots and threw it all into the crockpot with a little broth. I also added another can of tomato sauce. I kept adding more ingredients (oregano, basil, onion powder) as it cooked because it was SO BLAND. However, after adding the extras and a good dose of seasoned salt, it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
AWESOME dish! I read the reviews before making it and cut way down on the olive oil. I also added more chicken stock and red wine and simmered for about 2 hours. DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I usually always follow the recipe verbatim the first time I prepare it. I agree though it needs more oomph (or in this case, more OPA!). Whoever mentioned doubling the wine, 1 TBS of oregano and ten cloves of garlic is on the right track.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I had such high hopes but the end result was greasy and tasteless. I thought that 1 cup of olive oil was a bit much but went against my better judgment and used it anyway. I even thought that I should probably have drained the pain after the chicken fried but didn't do that either. I stuck to the recipe to a "T" and unfortunately it was disappointing. ~ TIPS ~ a) cut down on the oil/butter or b) drain the grease after frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States