Greek Chicken Stew (Stifado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I had such high hopes but the end result was greasy and tasteless. I thought that 1 cup of olive oil was a bit much but went against my better judgment and used it anyway. I even thought that I should probably have drained the pain after the chicken fried but didn't do that either. I stuck to the recipe to a "T" and unfortunately it was disappointing. ~ TIPS ~ a) cut down on the oil/butter or b) drain the grease after frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I have been making this dish since it got published. I couldn't bring myself to add one cup of oil so I used only enough to brown the chicken. I also sub tiny boiler onions for the shallot as they are easier to find and cheaper here. Today I decided to make it in my Crockpot. I wasn't disappointed, if anything it was better. I didn't use the broth because of the excess liquid issue and it intensified the flavors. Excellent recipe either way. Thank-you Gracey for a wonderful dish that I have made and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
If you added mushrooms you'd practically have a coq au vin. A bit of sugar brought out the sweetness of the tomatoes. I threw in green beans, carrots, and potatoes, all of which absorbed the excellent flavours and the potatoes thickened the sauce a bit. Fabulous with pain de campagne to dip in the sauce and clean your plate with. Made three days worth - mmmmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Made this last night. It was really quite good! I used 6 large shallots and blanched/peeled them as instructed. They "slide" right out of their outer-layers this way, so that was a great tip. I used a pkg of bone-in/skin-on thighs and drumsticks since my family loves dark meat in a stew. I used a bit more tomato sauce (chunky style with herbs), and I used 3 heaping Tbsp of minced garlic and a lot more Oregano than what it called for, b/c we like more flavorful dishes as well. Used lots of chopped fresh parsley, too. Also added a container of fresh white mushrooms, halved. The results were good! Meat totally fell off the bone, and the flavors were great. My husband didn't care for it, but that's because I put it over Batsmati rice, which was sticky and mushy. I think over egg noodles would be better next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe but took others' advice and added more spice -- lots of garlic, oregano, basil. It still was kind of bland -- last minute I quartered mushrooms and sauteed, then added, as well as chunks of green and red peppers. The chicken was very tender as a simmered it for hours, but just not that flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was really delicious. My 11 yr old was especially taken by it, and by the way it smells while cooking. I did have to make a couple of changes, due to what I had. I didn't have shallots, so I used very thickly sliced up onion, and didn't blanch them first. I also didn't use near the oil called for, but I did use more than I normally would-prob. close to 1/4 cup. I didn't have any parsley, but I added a bunch of fresh marjoram and a little fresh oregano. At the end, I thickened it up with a little cornstarch slurry. Served it with rice and salad. I love this recipe, albeit a little changed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Delicious! I substituted white wine for red and used 2 leeks because I couldn't find shallots at the local store. I also added some red potatoes for volume and doubled the spices (I like bolder flavor). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Good, but not great...it smelled so good while simmering that I was anticipating a very flavorful meat...but the meat was on the dry side, with not much flavor! I will make it again, as I like the flavor of the broth, but next time I will pierce the raw chicken with a fork to get the flavor in, and I'll cook it at a lower temperature for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is an incredibly versatile, delicious and easy to make dish - easily modified for your palate or wonderful (and more neutral-tasting) as written. I add more garlic and a dash of spice. My picky husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States