Greek Chicken Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I didnt have any problems with it being too dry. I also added a little dill to the yougurt sauce and the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I tried this earlier today and it came out very well. Reading complaints about the chicken drying out during cooking I brined the chicken first and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Awesome chicken pita. This was soo good that I ate three in one night!! The first two I made, I ate them the way the recipe mentioned, but the last one I ate I add feta cheese to it to enhance flavor. The only thing I did differently was instead of cooking chicken in slow cooker for 6 hours, I did a quicker method by grilling onions and chicken on stovetop. The next time I prepare this I will try it in the slow cooker. Overall great and healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
We liked the flavor, and we did use the lemon pepper seasoning as in the recipe. It did not come out dry at all, it was very tasty. However, I used a different tzatziki sauce from this site. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This was easy to make and a hit with my family, ages 1, 4 and 35. I liked it too. I used chic thighs. I didn't have lemon pepper either so I added salt and pepper to the spice mixture and then added a bit of lemon juice (bottled) to the crock pot before cooking. after 5 hours on low (instead of 6 on high), it was super tender, not dry and perfect for gyros. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish! I added extra garlic and used fresh lemon juice rather than lemon pepper and it came out quite tasty. I used a seasoning called "Garli Garni" in the sauce and sprinkled it over the chicken before cooking it and it really gave it that extra garlic kick that gyros are notorious for. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
My wife and I love this recipe. It was simple and quick to prepare. It tasted great and was fun. Next time we are going add some feta chesse for a deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is a very good recipe. However, I skipped the slow cooker part. Just saute the onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil, season the chicken and then brown it in the skillet. Mix the dressing and you're ready to eat. Much easier and faster this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My family likes this recipe very much. I agree with other reviewers about the chicken's dryness, so I add a little chicken broth to the bottom of the crock as well. I don't use lemon pepper, but I do add sliced fresh lemon to the bottom of the crock with the onion and mix pepper with the oregano and allspice to season the chicken. I've done it the same way in the oven when I was in more of a hurry and it was just as good. We like to add dill to the yogurt sauce, too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Vernon Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Ran out of time to get into the slow cooker, so I made it on the stove top in about 1.5 hours and it came out well. The "show-stopper" was the yogurt sauce. Every last bit was gone and sauces don't usually go over very well at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States