Greek Chicken Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is a very good recipe. However, I skipped the slow cooker part. Just saute the onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil, season the chicken and then brown it in the skillet. Mix the dressing and you're ready to eat. Much easier and faster this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This was easy to make and a hit with my family, ages 1, 4 and 35. I liked it too. I used chic thighs. I didn't have lemon pepper either so I added salt and pepper to the spice mixture and then added a bit of lemon juice (bottled) to the crock pot before cooking. after 5 hours on low (instead of 6 on high), it was super tender, not dry and perfect for gyros. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was okay, but didn't live up to the idea. It was very dry and not that flavorful. It's way too much time in the pot for this amount of chicken with no liquid... the onions were blackened and gave it all a funky taste-- and I took it out an hour early! I would love to find a good recipe for a Greek Gyro, to get the meat tender and moist like slow roasting does... this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
No good at all. Sorry. This really lacked flavor which suprised me. I really don't know what else to say but other than it tastes really bad. 99.99% of the recipes that I make from this site are awesome. But just not this one. Thanks for taking your time to post this recipe though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
The flavors of this recipe are a good base, but the chicken turned out very dry after cooking in the crock pot all day. The next time, I will marinate in the onion and spices all day and cook stove-top. Also, salt, garlic and fresh ground pepper are a definite must for the cucumber sauce. We will make again with these adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan S
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I would have to agree that this chicken came out very dry. I followed all of the directions and didn't make any changes. I did like the cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I followed the directions perfectly and the chicken turned out dry and with very little flavor. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Ran out of time to get into the slow cooker, so I made it on the stove top in about 1.5 hours and it came out well. The "show-stopper" was the yogurt sauce. Every last bit was gone and sauces don't usually go over very well at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I tried this earlier today and it came out very well. Reading complaints about the chicken drying out during cooking I brined the chicken first and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My family likes this recipe very much. I agree with other reviewers about the chicken's dryness, so I add a little chicken broth to the bottom of the crock as well. I don't use lemon pepper, but I do add sliced fresh lemon to the bottom of the crock with the onion and mix pepper with the oregano and allspice to season the chicken. I've done it the same way in the oven when I was in more of a hurry and it was just as good. We like to add dill to the yogurt sauce, too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States