Greek Chicken Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This was easy to make and a hit with my family, ages 1, 4 and 35. I liked it too. I used chic thighs. I didn't have lemon pepper either so I added salt and pepper to the spice mixture and then added a bit of lemon juice (bottled) to the crock pot before cooking. after 5 hours on low (instead of 6 on high), it was super tender, not dry and perfect for gyros. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
i thought this was just OK. it didnt have the flavor i was hoping it would. i dont know if i would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish! I added extra garlic and used fresh lemon juice rather than lemon pepper and it came out quite tasty. I used a seasoning called "Garli Garni" in the sauce and sprinkled it over the chicken before cooking it and it really gave it that extra garlic kick that gyros are notorious for. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
My family really did not enjoy this recipe at all. I believe it was the lemon pepper seasoning we objected to the most. May have been better using lemon juice and pepper as others have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I followed the directions perfectly and the chicken turned out dry and with very little flavor. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Castillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
We liked the flavor, and we did use the lemon pepper seasoning as in the recipe. It did not come out dry at all, it was very tasty. However, I used a different tzatziki sauce from this site. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan S
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I would have to agree that this chicken came out very dry. I followed all of the directions and didn't make any changes. I did like the cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
The flavors of this recipe are a good base, but the chicken turned out very dry after cooking in the crock pot all day. The next time, I will marinate in the onion and spices all day and cook stove-top. Also, salt, garlic and fresh ground pepper are a definite must for the cucumber sauce. We will make again with these adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
No good at all. Sorry. This really lacked flavor which suprised me. I really don't know what else to say but other than it tastes really bad. 99.99% of the recipes that I make from this site are awesome. But just not this one. Thanks for taking your time to post this recipe though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I really wanted to like this but it just did not have a good flavor for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States