Greek Chicken Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was okay, but didn't live up to the idea. It was very dry and not that flavorful. It's way too much time in the pot for this amount of chicken with no liquid... the onions were blackened and gave it all a funky taste-- and I took it out an hour early! I would love to find a good recipe for a Greek Gyro, to get the meat tender and moist like slow roasting does... this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is a very good recipe. However, I skipped the slow cooker part. Just saute the onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil, season the chicken and then brown it in the skillet. Mix the dressing and you're ready to eat. Much easier and faster this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
My wife and I love this recipe. It was simple and quick to prepare. It tasted great and was fun. Next time we are going add some feta chesse for a deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Is it correct that the cooking time/temp should be on high for 6 hours and that no liquid is added to the slow cooker? I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with scorched black garlic and onions and something that resembled a meat jerky. It was completely inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
this recipe was dry and tasteless i followed the recipe exactly i was mot impressed at all my husband and i both took one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I really wanted to like this but it just did not have a good flavor for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
No good at all. Sorry. This really lacked flavor which suprised me. I really don't know what else to say but other than it tastes really bad. 99.99% of the recipes that I make from this site are awesome. But just not this one. Thanks for taking your time to post this recipe though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
The flavors of this recipe are a good base, but the chicken turned out very dry after cooking in the crock pot all day. The next time, I will marinate in the onion and spices all day and cook stove-top. Also, salt, garlic and fresh ground pepper are a definite must for the cucumber sauce. We will make again with these adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan S
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I would have to agree that this chicken came out very dry. I followed all of the directions and didn't make any changes. I did like the cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
We liked the flavor, and we did use the lemon pepper seasoning as in the recipe. It did not come out dry at all, it was very tasty. However, I used a different tzatziki sauce from this site. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States