Greek Chicken Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It was dry in spite of cooking less time and adding some of my own touches. I would not make this in the slow cooker again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Awesome chicken pita. This was soo good that I ate three in one night!! The first two I made, I ate them the way the recipe mentioned, but the last one I ate I add feta cheese to it to enhance flavor. The only thing I did differently was instead of cooking chicken in slow cooker for 6 hours, I did a quicker method by grilling onions and chicken on stovetop. The next time I prepare this I will try it in the slow cooker. Overall great and healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
To make this authentic Greek. Take chicken shavings, put in a whole piece of pita bread as if it were a tortilla (do not break apart bread). top with raw onions, tomato slice or two. french fries, cayenne, and tsaziki sauce. That's how they make them. For an added amount of unhealthy flavor, deep fry the pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Ran out of time to get into the slow cooker, so I made it on the stove top in about 1.5 hours and it came out well. The "show-stopper" was the yogurt sauce. Every last bit was gone and sauces don't usually go over very well at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I tried this earlier today and it came out very well. Reading complaints about the chicken drying out during cooking I brined the chicken first and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My family likes this recipe very much. I agree with other reviewers about the chicken's dryness, so I add a little chicken broth to the bottom of the crock as well. I don't use lemon pepper, but I do add sliced fresh lemon to the bottom of the crock with the onion and mix pepper with the oregano and allspice to season the chicken. I've done it the same way in the oven when I was in more of a hurry and it was just as good. We like to add dill to the yogurt sauce, too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Vernon Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I went by this recipe just about as is, only thing I changed was to turn the crock pot to low for the 6 hours instead of high - as others had suggested.The only thing good about this meal was the cucumber yogurt and the pitas. When I got home from work the edges of the chicken were not only brown, but dry and cracking.. we were hungry so decided to salvage what we could. The remaining chicken had a dry consistency and and an odd texture. On top of the terrible texture of the chicken, the spices used in the mixture did don't fare well with the cucumber sauce. It was like drinking a glass of koolaid and then a glass of milk... didn't work at all. I am very disappointed in this recipe, without making major adjustments I just don't feel I'd ever make this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I didnt have any problems with it being too dry. I also added a little dill to the yougurt sauce and the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was mediocre, will not make again. I don't think cooking the chicken breasts in the Crockpot produces a gyro style meat. I'll stick to grilling my chicken gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I phill hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was okay, but didn't live up to the idea. It was very dry and not that flavorful. It's way too much time in the pot for this amount of chicken with no liquid... the onions were blackened and gave it all a funky taste-- and I took it out an hour early! I would love to find a good recipe for a Greek Gyro, to get the meat tender and moist like slow roasting does... this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States