Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
BIG hit with everyone. Here's how I made them. First of all, that 'S' shape looked like a pain to make, so I took a melon ball/ice cream scoop, a very small one and using a level scoop, plopped them on the baking pans. Then, using the bottom of a glass, dusted in a little powdered sugar, squashed them flat, to about 1/4". When they were baking, I melted white chocolate and kept it warm. When the cookies were room temp, after baking, I spread the bottoms with white chocolate and put two halves together (like an Oreo). Then dusted the final cookies with the powdered sugar by sifting it with a fine mesh strainer. I know this is a far cry from any Greek type cookie, but these were really delicious, my husband's new favorites. Oh and I made them later using raspberry seedless jam on one side, and white chocolate on the other half, then put the two halves together, those are his new favorites. I used good chocolate, Lindt. Excellent recipe. I double the amount of vanilla and almond extract that the original recipe calls for by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This is one of the best cookies I have ever made. The dough could not have been simpler to make. I made 4 different variations with the finished dough: a traditional round rolled in powdered sugar, a crescent shape with half dipped in chocolate,rounds sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar and little 'log' shaped dipped in chocolate then rolled in crushed walnuts. They were all fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Overall I was very pleased with this recipe which I took to an Olympic Greek party. However, quite a lot of my cookies burnt on the bottom. I would probably add a tiny bit more almond extract next time as that gave a lovely flavour to the cookies. I found the most effective way to roll the dough in to "s" shapes was to dust my hands with confectioners' sugar so it didn't stick to my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I helped my 12 year old son make these for a school project. The flavor was good, but not sweet. I really liked them, but my son didn't. However, when he took them to school, all of his classmates loved them. I think a really good, easy recipe. They are a little difficult to shape before baking. Otherwise excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ash Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Easy, quick and oh-so-delicious! Everyone loved these. To make them a little more tender, I only used 2 1/4 cups of flour. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
YUMMY!!!! "Take 'em out to share with the neighbors" good. I've had cookies like this recipe that involve stuffing the cookies with pitted dates; looking for that recipe was what brought me to this one. I didn't wait for my cookies to cool completely before rolling them in the powdered sugar, no harm done. Those little cookies positively melt in your mouth when they're still hot from the oven.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe has been in my family for many years! We're not Greek and we had no idea this was a Greek recipe. We chill the dough in balls and roll it out thin, then cut it into shapes with cookie cutters and decorate with Christmas decorations. The best sugar cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I made these just to try and see if they were like some Greek Wedding Cookies I had at a restaurant and they were just as good, if not better. I did an experiment though. I made three kinds, one exactly as the recipe said, one with chopped walnuts incorporated throughout the mix, and one batch just rolled in walnuts with the powdered sugar on top. The best ones had walnuts. The others tasted just ok. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
They are not so bad. Very similar to other short bread cookies. very light on the sugar, which I like! I think next time, I will add a bit more almond extract for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
these cookies are so good that when i did a project on cyprus i rought this in for the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States