Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
My husband loves these and can't wait for me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwheeler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sabina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are so easy and so tasty! When I made these a second time I piped a line of melted chocolate down the middle of each cookie stick and sprinkled the chocolate with crushed hazelnuts - GREAT. My next plan is to use white chocolate and crushed pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These were actually pretty disappointing. I am not sure where I went wrong. I followed the recipe precisely, but they just spread out all over the cookie pan when they baked. Didn't hold shape. And really, for all that, didn't taste much different to me than many other cmas cookies. I can't give them less than a 3 stars because it's probably my fault they didn't turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These are very good. I made them for a cookie swap and everyone loved them. The leftovers at my house will not last long for sure! I did take other reviewers advice and increased the almond and vanilla extracts to 1 tsp each. I think the almond extract really makes the cookie taste great. Will definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Super easy, great flavor. I'm only giving it 4 stars because it was impossible to shape them, and I really wanted a cute shaped cookie, but the dough was impossibly sticky to shape into the "s", so I ended up rolling the dough into small balls and pressing them with a cup, like sugar cookies. I dusted them with cocoa and powdered sugar and the flavor - esp the hint of almond - is delish :) I only baked them for 5 mins, though, and the bottoms were beginning to brown, so definitely keep an eye on these while they bake. Next time, I'll try a honey glaze on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
WOW! These cookies are the best and easiest I have done in my life! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISA3267
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is an extremely easy cookie to make! Crunchy like a shortbread, yet when you eat it melts in your mouth. I agree with the others when you should double the vanilla and almond flavors. When rolling out the dough, I suggest 'flouring' hands with the confectioners sugar after making every "S" cookie. this makes it super easy to roll. I was surpised how easy it was to make the S shape. I got 23 cookies out of this batch since I made them a bit bigger. Excellent recipe, will definately use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I don't know what happened....This cookie dough had the consistency of frosting. I had so much conf. sugar on my hands, trying to roll the dough, that I looked like a snowman. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These cookies are amazing! I also added more almond extract as well as a bit more flour to make the dough more manageable to work with. I made the "S" shapes with no problem at all and they came out adorable. After the ccokies cooled, I just simply sprinkled on powdered sugar. They taste even better the next day. Really easy and delicious- can't wait to share them at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought these were fabulous. I followed others' suggestions and doubled the vanilla and almond extracts. I got about 30 cookies in all; could have made maybe a few more but I was out of cookie sheets. I did 10 rolled in powdered sugar, 10 I flattened and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before baking, and 10 I flattened and dipped in dark chocolate once cool. The powdered sugar ones were the household favorite. The cinnamon-sugar ones were basically snickerdoodles, and the ones with the chocolate I felt overwhelmed the subtle flavor of the cookies themselves. I think this is a really easy, delicious, and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lylastarr2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States