Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
The only change I made was adding an additional 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. The dough was easy to work with and I made them into an "S" shape. I baked them about 12 minutes and after they cooled I sifted powdered sugar on them. They are delicious -- very delicate flavor. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I doubled the almond extract, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
We didn't alter a thing. This recipe is simple, quick AND delicious. My Canadian Greek friend, Maria, will be upset because these cookies taste exactly like hers. I made them for the neighborhood kids and then taught them how to make their own. They were highly impressed with this recipe and the fact that they too could make it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These cookies are so easy to make and they are so good. I form them into "S" shapes. They seem to get better a day or two after making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KASTLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Runnemede, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I've made this recipe numerous times since finding it in Dec. 2008. It's really great. The ONLY thing I do differently is to triple the almond. The S shape is not difficult to make and really creates a delicate and lovely cookie. Friends are wowed over them and my husband and kids ask for it all the time. (Our 9 and 7 year old kids make them into the lovely S shape!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dix, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Made just like the recipe and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimindallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Fabulous! I had people coming to my desk from other floors just to get one of these cookies! I'm so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The cookie was pretty good. I didn't have almond extract on hand so I used Anise extract instead. Probably I will put a full Teaspoon though just for some more flavor. Also I read that a few reviews said that the dough was sticky and hard to shape. I suggest putting the dough in the freezer a few minutes to chill it. Another review suggested dipping half the cookie in melted chocolate, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie vitale

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe was great. I did however add a bit more of the almond.... like other readers said it gave more flavor. And Greek food is all about good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenstacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This cookie was a hit!! I made them for Christmas and rolled them in red/white sugar and then formed canes. They were cute and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States