Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
i LOVE these cookies, though i did read the reviews and added the mace, and white pepper, the first time i made them i left out the cardamom. After making another batch, i must say that i prefer them without it. Also, you might have to adjust the flour to 3 cups. I have made these quite a few times, it is the easiest cookie recipe to make. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
my favorit christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made these cookies today...they tasted totally delicious and may be the best butter cookie I've tasted yet. Although, I made minor changes to this recipe, I still gave it 5 stars because of the taste - they taste delicious (as my 3 year old son put it). After reading through some of the other comments & suggestions for this recipe, I added an additional 1 1/2 tablespoons each of vanilla & almond extract, and added ground pecans (as much or as little as you prefer). With that said this is a staple in my kitchen. One thing I must mention is that even with refrigerating the dough for 1 hour; the dough was still too soft to form the S. I then put the dough in my cookie press and they came out wonderful w/ lowering the oven temperature to 350 @ 8 mins. Godgifu - thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy A.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Perfect! Only upset I didn't triple the batter and will have to remake it again so sooner than later. I added a little more almond extract only bc it ran over the measuring spoon, but I also saw that as a few recommendations. Perfect! I made mine in TBSP size balls and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Spectacular if you love sugar cookies! These are addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We have baked these cookies for years. We call then "Pecan Dreams" because chopeed pecans are put in the dough and then we roll them in tsp. fulls and stick a half pecan in middle and roll it into the cookie. We put them in the powdered sugar right ways. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hearne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I just made these and I'm really impressed with it. It kind of reminds me of the Dutch boterkoek recipe in my family, so it was easy to follow along. took the advice of the other reviews and put 1 teaspoon instead of half a teaspoon of almond extract. later on they had cooled a bit I melted some seieet ocolachips in a small sauce pan and dipped one end of the cookies into it, then i added sixcubs o white choolate to uncleaned cclate pan to make a lighter chocolate drizzl, aitle coffeee cream to make the chocolate thinner, then i drizzled stripes over the dipped cookies, they taste very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very, very plain and I added the zest of a lemon to the batter because I had it around. Also they spread and so didn't look very good either. Dough was very difficult to work with. I am going to go with a butter cookie that has a little more flavor and some baking powder next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Easy recipe, but I added a bit more flour to make them easier to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivy
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I just finished a batch and I can't stop eating them, I made some tea to have with them, but ate 3 before the water boiled. I added a little more almond essence because mine was really old. The prep time is much longer than 10min because of the S shapes, which weren't as hard as many suggested, just have to work fast and would help if these were made on a cooler day with cool hands. In saying so I have hot hands all the time and they still turned out awesome. Cook time is definitely 10 min per tray, I ended up with 3 = 30min all together. Used a non-stick cookie pan and didn't grease it, looked like there was enough butter in the recipe and they didn't stick. Used baking paper on a normal cookie sheet and they were fine too. They have a great light crisp texture for me, will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States