Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sam fores
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
The cookies were so good and so easy to make. Though my first batch of cookies came out so dark in the bottom almost burnt. Second batch came out just fine. I know better so I just lowered my oven temp to 300 F. Will be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam fores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacolod City, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille Murray
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The cookies were really good, but a little bland. My first batch also burnt on the bottom. I cooked my second batch at 350 degrees for 15 minutes and they turned out fine. I found a nice way to increase the buttery flavor is to brush them with melted butter halfway through the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Was very doughy . Not my ideal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I love sugar and/or butter cookies!!! These sound so delicious, I am going to make them right away!!! I am not really greek, but mostly Italian and they are somewhat similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very simple and yummy! I used 1.5 tsp of vanilla and .5 of almond, but next time I think I will use less almond extract. I piped the dough through a sandwich bag and made simple fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Not sure what about this was Greek other than the shape they suggested which is one of the ways Greeks shape their cookies. I am 100% Greek and thought I give this a try, seeing as it was different then any other Greek recipe I have made before. With that said, this cookie was delicious. Quick and easy. Borders somewhere between a sugar cookie and a shortbread cookie. A simple homemade cookie to make in a snap. Cookie hardens a bit as it cools and turned harder when totally cooled off. I can see dipping this into chocolate or putting nuts on it, really the possibilities are endless I had a difficult time making this into shapes and scooped up some into a ball and slightly flattened it out. I'm going to cut the flour down a bit my next try but I see myself adding this to my regular cookie holiday baking and one recipe I will use in between to just have for those who stops over for coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These cookies aren't to be sweet. They're a mild tasting cookie, not to be iced. I've made them throughout the year,especially for Easter. Some recipes vary and add a bit of orange zest. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I put 3/4 tsp of almond and vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe and was happy with how easy it was to make a pretty shaped cookie that tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Rau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicious! And filled my kitchen with a wonderful scent! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States