Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mkm
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Really delicious, quick, and simple! The only change I made was to substitute orange extract for the almond, just my personal preference, I'm sure they would be good either way. I also made them round instead of the s shape, then dipped half of each cookie in melted chocolate and sprinkles. Very delicious that way, but they are also really good just plain if you're looking for something less sweet. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
made this without any changes... so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Love the cookies except next time I am going to use more almond extract and reduce the vanilla. The powdered sugar is a must to bring just right kind of sweetness it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Sanfilippo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Good flavor. I think I may have baked them a tad too long because they were a bit harder than I would have liked. When I bake them again I will shorten the time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sam fores
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
The cookies were so good and so easy to make. Though my first batch of cookies came out so dark in the bottom almost burnt. Second batch came out just fine. I know better so I just lowered my oven temp to 300 F. Will be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam fores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacolod City, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille Murray
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The cookies were really good, but a little bland. My first batch also burnt on the bottom. I cooked my second batch at 350 degrees for 15 minutes and they turned out fine. I found a nice way to increase the buttery flavor is to brush them with melted butter halfway through the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Was very doughy . Not my ideal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I love sugar and/or butter cookies!!! These sound so delicious, I am going to make them right away!!! I am not really greek, but mostly Italian and they are somewhat similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very simple and yummy! I used 1.5 tsp of vanilla and .5 of almond, but next time I think I will use less almond extract. I piped the dough through a sandwich bag and made simple fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Not sure what about this was Greek other than the shape they suggested which is one of the ways Greeks shape their cookies. I am 100% Greek and thought I give this a try, seeing as it was different then any other Greek recipe I have made before. With that said, this cookie was delicious. Quick and easy. Borders somewhere between a sugar cookie and a shortbread cookie. A simple homemade cookie to make in a snap. Cookie hardens a bit as it cools and turned harder when totally cooled off. I can see dipping this into chocolate or putting nuts on it, really the possibilities are endless I had a difficult time making this into shapes and scooped up some into a ball and slightly flattened it out. I'm going to cut the flour down a bit my next try but I see myself adding this to my regular cookie holiday baking and one recipe I will use in between to just have for those who stops over for coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States