Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
We really liked these. I added more almond extract and I did everything else as written. I loved the clean and pure taste of these cookies. They were a great break from sickening sweet desserts. Delectable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Photo by SADS
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Delicious! Made these for my family - I halved the recipe, but it made about 11 cookies (rather than 24.) Also, I doubled the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Awesome! I made them into the 'S' shapes - how fun! I didn't have any vanilla on hand, so I used all almond extract (1 tsp) plus another 1/2 tsp (which is all that was left in the bottle). Very easy and quick and very yummy! Mine baked up perfect at 10 minutes on my insulated sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
these cookies are absolutely spot on, i added a teaspood of cinnamon to the mixture the second time, delicious! Brilliant dipped in coffee or hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danube66
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Good recipe. It is very simple, doesn't need a lot of ingredients. I definitely wouldn't bake it on 400 degrees again - the bottom of the cookies were too brown and the cookies were too dry. Try 350, for probably 13-14 minutes. Otherwise, the cookies are tasty, if simple - they actually taste better a day or two later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Looking forward to trying this, One I have you have to use actual Vanilla bean and that can be costly. Esp when make large amounts, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Very good cookie- almost like a Sweedish Melting Moment or Heirloom Cookie. Definately needs more almond extract like other reviewers said. I dropped the oven temp because my oven cooks hot in the first place, but I went to 350 and still a 10 minute cook time- the cookies do not need to be browned to be cooked through. Over all though, a great cookie- you could really do anythign with them- frost, glaze, sugar sprinkles, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
these are refreshingly good after so much chocolate chip cookies. i was expecting a "melt in your mouth" like someone stated, but i guess she wasn't being literal. i took them out at 10 minutes and the center looked a little unbaked so, i baked them for a couple more minutes and they were just right. also, the batch gave me a little less than 6 dozens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very good tea cookie. The trick is to keep them small. Larger balls (bigger than 3/4" diameter) tended to spread out into a lumpy odd shaped cookie. Still tasty, just odd looking. I added an extra 1/8 tsp. of almond flavour an extra 3 tbsp of flour and chilled the dough for 2 hours. They came out very tasty. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
YUM, these were very good. i used extra almond flavoring and rolled in powdered sugar after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States