Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
my husband is greek and i wanted to make something special for him and not only did he love these but so did our children!!! LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These came out delicious. I doubled the amount of almond and vanilla extract after reading others' reviews. The "S" shapes were easy to make but most of them did not bake with the design clearly visible. If the dough gets sticky while you are rolling it with your hands, just wash or wipe off your hands and you're good for another 15 or so cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were really good!!! We tried them with cinnamon and sugar and then we covered some in powdered sugar. The powdered sugar were the best. I will make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These were so yummy. I upped the almond extract to a teaspoon and I think they were perfect. Crisp and sweet and so good with the powdered sugar- and hot tea. These were a hit at my husband's work cookie swap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great taste, Easy to make, difficult to role out, overall- Keep practicing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
My husband loves these and can't wait for me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwheeler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sabina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are so easy and so tasty! When I made these a second time I piped a line of melted chocolate down the middle of each cookie stick and sprinkled the chocolate with crushed hazelnuts - GREAT. My next plan is to use white chocolate and crushed pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These were actually pretty disappointing. I am not sure where I went wrong. I followed the recipe precisely, but they just spread out all over the cookie pan when they baked. Didn't hold shape. And really, for all that, didn't taste much different to me than many other cmas cookies. I can't give them less than a 3 stars because it's probably my fault they didn't turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These are very good. I made them for a cookie swap and everyone loved them. The leftovers at my house will not last long for sure! I did take other reviewers advice and increased the almond and vanilla extracts to 1 tsp each. I think the almond extract really makes the cookie taste great. Will definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Super easy, great flavor. I'm only giving it 4 stars because it was impossible to shape them, and I really wanted a cute shaped cookie, but the dough was impossibly sticky to shape into the "s", so I ended up rolling the dough into small balls and pressing them with a cup, like sugar cookies. I dusted them with cocoa and powdered sugar and the flavor - esp the hint of almond - is delish :) I only baked them for 5 mins, though, and the bottoms were beginning to brown, so definitely keep an eye on these while they bake. Next time, I'll try a honey glaze on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States