Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Made just like the recipe and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimindallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Fabulous! I had people coming to my desk from other floors just to get one of these cookies! I'm so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The cookie was pretty good. I didn't have almond extract on hand so I used Anise extract instead. Probably I will put a full Teaspoon though just for some more flavor. Also I read that a few reviews said that the dough was sticky and hard to shape. I suggest putting the dough in the freezer a few minutes to chill it. Another review suggested dipping half the cookie in melted chocolate, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie vitale

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe was great. I did however add a bit more of the almond.... like other readers said it gave more flavor. And Greek food is all about good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenstacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This cookie was a hit!! I made them for Christmas and rolled them in red/white sugar and then formed canes. They were cute and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
It was just ok to me. I do highly suggest you do as someone said and add nuts and reroll in powder sugar while still hot out of oven I may have given 3 or 4 stars after that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
i only gave it 3 stars because my boyfriend is greek and he said that if i was going for a real greek butter cookie i only would have made at 2 out of 10. but they they were great tasting cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambabbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very simple to make and with a simple taste but these are the cookies I find snitching the most out of all our Christmas cookies. I didn't form them...I just took a spoon and dropped chunks of dough on the pan. There were not as pretty but they tasted excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
4 stars for taste. The dough is so sticky it was hard to make shapes. I made a few S's and J's for my name and my husband and son's names. Those were hard enough. I made the rest into ball shapes. I even tried the powdered sugar on my hands trick that others mentioned, but that really didn't help much. It's just a very sticky dough. I might try a cake decorating tool next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These were very good. I used half the dough and shaped them into S's. This was a little bit difficult, but they turned out OK. I then sprinkled them with crushed candy canes. The other half, I made into raspberry thumbprint cookies - rolled into balls, made an indentation with the tip of a wooden spoon, filled with just a dab of raspberry jam. Very versatile and easy to immediately after preparing the dough. They would be nice with hershey kisses, dipped in chocolate, sprinkles... the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States