Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
YUMMY!!!! "Take 'em out to share with the neighbors" good. I've had cookies like this recipe that involve stuffing the cookies with pitted dates; looking for that recipe was what brought me to this one. I didn't wait for my cookies to cool completely before rolling them in the powdered sugar, no harm done. Those little cookies positively melt in your mouth when they're still hot from the oven.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
These were a good basic butter cookie. Nothing really WOW about them but great for having with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I helped my 12 year old son make these for a school project. The flavor was good, but not sweet. I really liked them, but my son didn't. However, when he took them to school, all of his classmates loved them. I think a really good, easy recipe. They are a little difficult to shape before baking. Otherwise excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ash Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
these are great little cookies, easy to make, though didn't yeild 4 dozen. more like 2-3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Yum~!~!~! I made these about 4 months ago for my daughter’s class during a Greek festival she had - They were a HIT!! Then I made a second batch the following day for our family to enjoy. My kids are STILL asking me to make these for them. They are simple AND delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe has been in my family for many years! We're not Greek and we had no idea this was a Greek recipe. We chill the dough in balls and roll it out thin, then cut it into shapes with cookie cutters and decorate with Christmas decorations. The best sugar cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
These were very good, but very ordinary butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Overall I was very pleased with this recipe which I took to an Olympic Greek party. However, quite a lot of my cookies burnt on the bottom. I would probably add a tiny bit more almond extract next time as that gave a lovely flavour to the cookies. I found the most effective way to roll the dough in to "s" shapes was to dust my hands with confectioners' sugar so it didn't stick to my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I had no idea what to expect from this cookie, but the reviews here convinced me to try it. Definitely a wonderful butter cookie with a delicate taste. The dough held its shape beautifully. I did shape it into "S" by using a small backin "ice cream scoop" usually used to make melon balls. But this allowed me to get a consistent amount of dough for each cookie. Then I simply rubbed the ball between my palms into about a 3" rope then shaped into an S on the cookie sheet. I didn't grease my cookie sheets, but I did use parchmant paper. A much easier clean up! I think at Christmas I'll put red or green food coloring into the dough. You know-- S for Santa! I think they'd look pretty with the powdered sugar sprinkled over them. A nice addition to the Christmas cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
My roommates grandmother sent us some of these cookies, but I didn't have the recipe. These taste just as delicious and they're easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States