Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
It was just ok to me. I do highly suggest you do as someone said and add nuts and reroll in powder sugar while still hot out of oven I may have given 3 or 4 stars after that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
i only gave it 3 stars because my boyfriend is greek and he said that if i was going for a real greek butter cookie i only would have made at 2 out of 10. but they they were great tasting cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambabbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very simple to make and with a simple taste but these are the cookies I find snitching the most out of all our Christmas cookies. I didn't form them...I just took a spoon and dropped chunks of dough on the pan. There were not as pretty but they tasted excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
4 stars for taste. The dough is so sticky it was hard to make shapes. I made a few S's and J's for my name and my husband and son's names. Those were hard enough. I made the rest into ball shapes. I even tried the powdered sugar on my hands trick that others mentioned, but that really didn't help much. It's just a very sticky dough. I might try a cake decorating tool next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These were very good. I used half the dough and shaped them into S's. This was a little bit difficult, but they turned out OK. I then sprinkled them with crushed candy canes. The other half, I made into raspberry thumbprint cookies - rolled into balls, made an indentation with the tip of a wooden spoon, filled with just a dab of raspberry jam. Very versatile and easy to immediately after preparing the dough. They would be nice with hershey kisses, dipped in chocolate, sprinkles... the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
my husband is greek and i wanted to make something special for him and not only did he love these but so did our children!!! LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These came out delicious. I doubled the amount of almond and vanilla extract after reading others' reviews. The "S" shapes were easy to make but most of them did not bake with the design clearly visible. If the dough gets sticky while you are rolling it with your hands, just wash or wipe off your hands and you're good for another 15 or so cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were really good!!! We tried them with cinnamon and sugar and then we covered some in powdered sugar. The powdered sugar were the best. I will make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These were so yummy. I upped the almond extract to a teaspoon and I think they were perfect. Crisp and sweet and so good with the powdered sugar- and hot tea. These were a hit at my husband's work cookie swap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great taste, Easy to make, difficult to role out, overall- Keep practicing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States