Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very good tea cookie. The trick is to keep them small. Larger balls (bigger than 3/4" diameter) tended to spread out into a lumpy odd shaped cookie. Still tasty, just odd looking. I added an extra 1/8 tsp. of almond flavour an extra 3 tbsp of flour and chilled the dough for 2 hours. They came out very tasty. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
YUM, these were very good. i used extra almond flavoring and rolled in powdered sugar after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Simple to make melt in the mouth cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These are so very good and make a wonderful Christmas cookie. I took the advice of one who rated this cookie and added 1 teaspoon of Almond Extract and it really gives the cookie a good taste. Carolyn Fry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My husband doesn't really like cookies, but he loved these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
These cookies are very easy and taste great!! I plan to give them to people for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
BIG hit with everyone. Here's how I made them. First of all, that 'S' shape looked like a pain to make, so I took a melon ball/ice cream scoop, a very small one and using a level scoop, plopped them on the baking pans. Then, using the bottom of a glass, dusted in a little powdered sugar, squashed them flat, to about 1/4". When they were baking, I melted white chocolate and kept it warm. When the cookies were room temp, after baking, I spread the bottoms with white chocolate and put two halves together (like an Oreo). Then dusted the final cookies with the powdered sugar by sifting it with a fine mesh strainer. I know this is a far cry from any Greek type cookie, but these were really delicious, my husband's new favorites. Oh and I made them later using raspberry seedless jam on one side, and white chocolate on the other half, then put the two halves together, those are his new favorites. I used good chocolate, Lindt. Excellent recipe. I double the amount of vanilla and almond extract that the original recipe calls for by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I made these just to try and see if they were like some Greek Wedding Cookies I had at a restaurant and they were just as good, if not better. I did an experiment though. I made three kinds, one exactly as the recipe said, one with chopped walnuts incorporated throughout the mix, and one batch just rolled in walnuts with the powdered sugar on top. The best ones had walnuts. The others tasted just ok. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made these cookies for my 3rd Grade son to bring to school for an International Fair. They got rave reviews from everyone who tried them. My family now loves them, and even though we are not Greek, they have now become a favorite dessert in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These cookies taste great and are EXTREMELY easy to make using ingredients you probably already have. I brought them to a Greek Christmas party. Would be great dipped in chocolate as the previous reviewer suggested. The perfect "plain cookie" that can be dressed up any way you like. Warning: Not low-fat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States