Greek Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
This is absolutely one of the best recipes I've ever found for lamb. My family just loved this and I will definitely make this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
I cut the lamb by adding an equal amount of ground beef. This way the burgers where not too lamby. I also used fennel seed instead of the fresh fennel. I was worried about my husband because he a bit of a food snob but he loved these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Cut this recipe in half to serve my family and it went over pretty well. I only used a quarter of a bulb of fennel (my fennel must have been huge so go with your gut instincts on this). I sauteed the fennel and shallots in some olive oil and garlic and salt/pepper until they were nice and soft. I didn't want to bite into hard bits of fennel, plus cooking the fennel mellows out the flavor. I added greek seasoning (mccormick brand) instead of just the oregano - the greek seasoning had oregano in it. Ofcourse I seasoned with salt and pepper to my liking. I always cook a tiny bit before making my patties to taste the seasonings. I served in Pita Bread. For the Aioli mayo - I always add a bit of lemon juice and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very good. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Pretty good. I used half a bulb of fennel, and it's just right -- complementary, not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Sometimes, I serve this in pita pockets with Tzatziki Sauce, and sprinkled with feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
These were just ok in our opinions. I think I should have omitted the fennel - personally, I found the flavor over-whelming. I had 2 bites, then passed my burger over to Husband. He picked at them, and looked generally unenthusiastic which is never a good sign. I doubt I will make these again, but thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
omit fennel from meat and instead slice and grill/cook the fennel on a grill or frypan and use as you would use an onion on the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
We really enjoy Greek food - well Greek meats! lol Anyway I made this with a little variations - added some fresh chopped parsley to use some out of the garden, only used a bit of fennel seed that I ground. That added enough flavour. I didn't make the garlic/mayo sauce but bought a tzatzkik dip & used that on the bread rolls. Hubby loved it! Not your average hamberger (which I don't really eat) but this will be a mainstay in our recipe file for those lazy cooking nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States