Greek Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
This is absolutely one of the best recipes I've ever found for lamb. My family just loved this and I will definitely make this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
I cut the lamb by adding an equal amount of ground beef. This way the burgers where not too lamby. I also used fennel seed instead of the fresh fennel. I was worried about my husband because he a bit of a food snob but he loved these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Cut this recipe in half to serve my family and it went over pretty well. I only used a quarter of a bulb of fennel (my fennel must have been huge so go with your gut instincts on this). I sauteed the fennel and shallots in some olive oil and garlic and salt/pepper until they were nice and soft. I didn't want to bite into hard bits of fennel, plus cooking the fennel mellows out the flavor. I added greek seasoning (mccormick brand) instead of just the oregano - the greek seasoning had oregano in it. Ofcourse I seasoned with salt and pepper to my liking. I always cook a tiny bit before making my patties to taste the seasonings. I served in Pita Bread. For the Aioli mayo - I always add a bit of lemon juice and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very good. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Pretty good. I used half a bulb of fennel, and it's just right -- complementary, not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Sometimes, I serve this in pita pockets with Tzatziki Sauce, and sprinkled with feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
These were just ok in our opinions. I think I should have omitted the fennel - personally, I found the flavor over-whelming. I had 2 bites, then passed my burger over to Husband. He picked at them, and looked generally unenthusiastic which is never a good sign. I doubt I will make these again, but thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
omit fennel from meat and instead slice and grill/cook the fennel on a grill or frypan and use as you would use an onion on the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
We really enjoy Greek food - well Greek meats! lol Anyway I made this with a little variations - added some fresh chopped parsley to use some out of the garden, only used a bit of fennel seed that I ground. That added enough flavour. I didn't make the garlic/mayo sauce but bought a tzatzkik dip & used that on the bread rolls. Hubby loved it! Not your average hamberger (which I don't really eat) but this will be a mainstay in our recipe file for those lazy cooking nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States