Greek Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jackhafner
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made these with lean ground beef because I couldn't find lamb and added some feta to the patties. I also put some diced fennel leaves into the aioli. In the words of Jules, "Mmm-mmm! That is a tasty burger."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I didn't have fennel or shallots on hand so I used only very finely chopped red onion; otherwise made recipe as directed. These lamb burgers are great topped with tzatziki. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I could not get ground lamb from my meat dept. so i used 1/2 lb. ground turkey and 1/2 lb lean ground beef. Other than that I followed the recipe it was fantastic! Even my hubby and kids liked it.A nice change to a plain burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
The best burger I have ever had! I loved biting into the bits of fennel. I couldn't find ground lamb, so I used hamburger - was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
omit fennel from meat and instead slice and grill/cook the fennel on a grill or frypan and use as you would use an onion on the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Cut this recipe in half to serve my family and it went over pretty well. I only used a quarter of a bulb of fennel (my fennel must have been huge so go with your gut instincts on this). I sauteed the fennel and shallots in some olive oil and garlic and salt/pepper until they were nice and soft. I didn't want to bite into hard bits of fennel, plus cooking the fennel mellows out the flavor. I added greek seasoning (mccormick brand) instead of just the oregano - the greek seasoning had oregano in it. Ofcourse I seasoned with salt and pepper to my liking. I always cook a tiny bit before making my patties to taste the seasonings. I served in Pita Bread. For the Aioli mayo - I always add a bit of lemon juice and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
start with this recipe but you'll need to doctor it...boring as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
We really enjoy Greek food - well Greek meats! lol Anyway I made this with a little variations - added some fresh chopped parsley to use some out of the garden, only used a bit of fennel seed that I ground. That added enough flavour. I didn't make the garlic/mayo sauce but bought a tzatzkik dip & used that on the bread rolls. Hubby loved it! Not your average hamberger (which I don't really eat) but this will be a mainstay in our recipe file for those lazy cooking nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
delicious!!! love greek food and burgers, so this was a winning marriage! i added a dash of lemon juice to the meat mix and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
My husband and I recently did a special "cleanse" that had very selective meat requirements. Lamb was one of the options, but I'd never cooked lamb in my life. This burger was a staple for us, and we'll keep it in the rotation even now that we're back to regular food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States