Greek Bifteki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very good! I decreased the tyme to 1/2 tsp. and added 1 teaspoon oregano. It is also good to use a mixture of half ground beef and half ground lamb. The butcher can grind the lamb for you. Then the burgers taste a lot more like gyro meat. I too added more feta per burger just because we love it! Don't over handle the meat and only flip the burgers once to keep them moist and not tough or dry. These are great served with Greek tzatkiki sauce and fresh sliced tomato, and Greek style roasted potatoes make the perfect side dish. ( Recipes for both are on this site )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was really enjoyable. I followed the recipe for the most part. Added a little bit of allspice and onion powder. Used earlier feedback to use oregano. Also, had crumbled feta on hand and mixed it in with the beef mixture. Hubby cooked it slowly on the grill. I made jasmine rice to go with it and tzaziki sauce. Was a wonderful mixture off the bun. Kids enjoyed them on the buns with a variety of toppings. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These were quite good. I did use mostly oregano as recommended by other reviewers, but did add some thyme too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
We really liked this as an alternative to the same 'ol burger. I was worried that they might taste a little too "feta-y" but cooking takes some of the tang out of the cheese. I sprinkled a little leaf oregano on top of the burgers as they cooked on the outdoor grill. We will definitely cook these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is so delicious! I also added oregeno and basil, and a little less thyme. I also added extra yogurt to give it extra moisture. Rather than a traditional burger, I used the Pillsbury french bread rolls as the bun... so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was just ok for me. I have a burger left, so tomorrow I will probably put some pepperjack, lettuce, tomato and onion on it and eat it that way. Not bad, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Super easy recipe to make - refrigerate the patties for about an hour before grilling to get them to hold together better. These grill up easy in one of those small press grills. Used 1 tsp Marjoram and 1 tsp of Thyme & added sliced green olives with the Feta the second time around and it was a huge hit with my 14yr old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KytchenWytch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was good, but I think it was a little heavy on the thyme. Next time I will be a little lighter-handed. Still worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I sprinkled some oregano into the ground beef mixture and the feta cheese. They turned out juicy and delicious. I had no problems with them falling apart. We used mayo, sliced tomato, and sliced cucumber as toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I loved this - can't wait to cook them again, so quick and easy the feta in the middle is really tasty, like Joan I used a George Foreman type grill - all the extra fat just dripped away & both sides cooked at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States