Greek Avgolemono Soup with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The best Greek Orzo soup recipe! I use more Orzo to make it thicker. I also use the rotisserie chicken from the deli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Our favorite Greek restaurant had closed, and the one thing we were going to miss was their Lemon Chicken Rice Soup! I tried this and it came out awesom. I added just a little more seasoning and lemon. Thank you, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
My husband and I LOVE this soup. I make it with Kitchen Basics Chicken Stock. It gives the soup a richer flavor. Also, I use steamed brown rice instead of orzo to make it healthier. I found the Greek Seasoning at Meijer. While I'm sure the soup would be good without it is outstanding with the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Love this soup...it couldn't be easier! We add a bit more lemon and a bit of cinnamon to deepen the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This soup was incredibly fast to prepare and pretty good. The avgolemono i've had in restaurants had a very prounounced lemon taste, whereas this soup has just a hint of a lemon taste. I added way more lemon juice than called for so that helped. Also, next time I will make my own chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This recipe was only okay to me. I followed the recipe with the exception of using white rice instead of orzo pasta. The taste was a bit bland, even with all the Greek seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Delicious! Never thought you could make a yummy soup in less than half an hour. This one will be on our "favorites" rotation. I might add a couple Tbs more orzo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This soup is absolutely fantastic! You will not beleive how easy it is to prepare. Many greek family restaurants make this soup with rice, so if you want the soup to be thicker, substitute rice in for a thicker end result. But this recipe, as directed, is the true authentic version. I could not find McCormick Greek Seasoning anywhere, so I used Herbs de Provence, which really rounded out all the flavors nicely. I paired this soup with layered cheese and tomato paninis and my friends went crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Very tasty! This is my favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Tried this soup at a Greek restaurant and knew we'd be trying it at home.Just as good as the restaurant soup.Sometimes we use canned chicken and bottled lemon juice.Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States