Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was really good and just what I was looking for. The only thing that I did differently is when I bolied my chicken I added onion powder, garlic powder and some salt. I also added just a small pinch of Oregano to the soup when I added in the salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is my all time favorite soup. It's exactly the way my yiayia taught me how to make it when I was a young girl. It's now my nephew's favorite soup and he asks for it all the time. I wouldn't change a thing. If you are short on time, use a pressure cooker to cook the chicken. I also use chicken leg quarters and skim the fat that rises to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is one of my favorites. My guests have be thrilled when I've served this refreshing soup! A few tips - to get more juice from the lemons, microwave them whole for 10 seconds before squeezing them. I always garnish this soup with nutmeg. You also can cook and shred boneless chicken breasts if that's more convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My favorite soup! But if you really want to do it right...use orzo instead of rice. My mom used to make it both ways and the orzo way is much better IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It's not the best Avgolemono I've ever had but it's the best I've ever made. There is a Greek restaurant in my city that has the best avgolemono soup but I wanted to try to make it because it's so easy and cheap to make. It only cost me $10.00 to make this and that included bread for dipping in the soup, plus it made a lot so I have some in my freezer. Next time I'll add more rice and more lemon. I'll also add carrot, onion and celery to the water when boiling the chicken to made more of a broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is exactly like my Greek friend, Maria, makes this soup. It's OK, but not quite to my liking. I need stronger flavours. So, here's what I did (for those that need that extra punch in a soup). I used a whole chicken, put it in a large pot, added just enough water to cover the chicken (a bit of the chicken was still above the water. This makes a stronger tasting broth). I added 3 carrots, 3 stalks of celery, a whole onion, a few garlic cloves, a parsnip, salt AND 4 packets of chicken bouillion. I simmered on low about 1 1/2 hours. Strained the broth, chopped up the chicken, saved the cooked veggies to eat later, and followed the recipe for the rest. It's such a refeshingly clear tasting soup. Never be afraid to alter a recipe. What's posted is one person's taste buds speaking and we're all different. Taste as you go... that's my rule. Enjoy. I'd suggest you cut back on the lemon to half, then taste and add more if you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHSUZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I love lemon with chicken and I think I make killer chicken stock from scratch that has tons of flavor..& I love trying new things! I've never had Greek lemon soup before and I guess it's just not my thing. Maybe it's an acquired taste? I kept wanting to, I don't know, ....add salt? (no, it was salted right) ....add cream? (no, the egg makes it creamy) The only way I could enjoy the meal was to take a bite of something else to break it up a little. There's something about how the egg and the strong lemon taste overwhelm your mouth that made me feel like I was eating something from another culture, that I would have had to grow up with to love. (like hagus, or eskimo ice cream) If you have a raw chicken staring at you asking "So whaddaya wanna do?"....find another recipe. If you like greek lemon soup...it had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My mom boils chicken for 2 hours. Also, at the step of beating the eggs with lemon juice, add 1.5 heaping TBSP of cornstarch. Beat with lemon juice and eggs. Continue with the ladeling to heat up the egg and lemon mix. My mom also adds just a bit more lemon for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This soup had a very unique taste! I found it difficult to skim all the chicken fat, and for that reason I think my soup had too much of an "oily" texture. I loved the lemon taste though, and will definitely make this again! I served this at a staff meeting and those brave enough to try something new really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This soup had a great flavor, but mine turned out too watery. I'll use less water and perhaps more rice in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States