Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is one of my favorites. My guests have be thrilled when I've served this refreshing soup! A few tips - to get more juice from the lemons, microwave them whole for 10 seconds before squeezing them. I always garnish this soup with nutmeg. You also can cook and shred boneless chicken breasts if that's more convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is my all time favorite soup. It's exactly the way my yiayia taught me how to make it when I was a young girl. It's now my nephew's favorite soup and he asks for it all the time. I wouldn't change a thing. If you are short on time, use a pressure cooker to cook the chicken. I also use chicken leg quarters and skim the fat that rises to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dimitri
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Great Recipe...It came out great with the first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dimitri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was really good and just what I was looking for. The only thing that I did differently is when I bolied my chicken I added onion powder, garlic powder and some salt. I also added just a small pinch of Oregano to the soup when I added in the salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was good, and similar but not quite the same as the soup I've had in Greek restaurants. The broth seemed too thin even though I was careful not to use too much water. I will probably make this again, but next time I'll use just half the chicken recommended, and sprinkle some fresh parsley on top right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This soup had a very unique taste! I found it difficult to skim all the chicken fat, and for that reason I think my soup had too much of an "oily" texture. I loved the lemon taste though, and will definitely make this again! I served this at a staff meeting and those brave enough to try something new really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This soup had a great flavor, but mine turned out too watery. I'll use less water and perhaps more rice in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Wonderful flavor, wonderful texture, all around a great soup. I might add some more rice next time but other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
It was okay. Good soup, but nothing special. I grew up eating Avgolemono soup (I'm Greek), and this definitely didn't recreate that experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this is my all time favorite soup! i remember my mom making it since when i was little and now i'm making it and friends and family love it! the only difference is that mom used to throw in there a couple of carrots, a small parsley root and a small parsnip (everything cut in small dices). and it took me years to actually learn to make it, because when i had my mom near me she would do it, but now that we're a world apart it was my turn. :-) and i absolutely love it! the lemony taste and the thickness from the eggs... for me it is the perfect soup! (and i'm not greek!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States