Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I love lemon with chicken and I think I make killer chicken stock from scratch that has tons of flavor..& I love trying new things! I've never had Greek lemon soup before and I guess it's just not my thing. Maybe it's an acquired taste? I kept wanting to, I don't know, ....add salt? (no, it was salted right) ....add cream? (no, the egg makes it creamy) The only way I could enjoy the meal was to take a bite of something else to break it up a little. There's something about how the egg and the strong lemon taste overwhelm your mouth that made me feel like I was eating something from another culture, that I would have had to grow up with to love. (like hagus, or eskimo ice cream) If you have a raw chicken staring at you asking "So whaddaya wanna do?"....find another recipe. If you like greek lemon soup...it had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was really pleased to locate this recipe. I make this soup at least once every few months and lost the original recipe. My mother really loves it when I make this for them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Really great tasting and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This ended up being less flavorful than I expected. It wasn't bad, it just felt like it needed more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this is my all time favorite soup! i remember my mom making it since when i was little and now i'm making it and friends and family love it! the only difference is that mom used to throw in there a couple of carrots, a small parsley root and a small parsnip (everything cut in small dices). and it took me years to actually learn to make it, because when i had my mom near me she would do it, but now that we're a world apart it was my turn. :-) and i absolutely love it! the lemony taste and the thickness from the eggs... for me it is the perfect soup! (and i'm not greek!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
It was okay. Good soup, but nothing special. I grew up eating Avgolemono soup (I'm Greek), and this definitely didn't recreate that experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Wonderful flavor, wonderful texture, all around a great soup. I might add some more rice next time but other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This soup had a great flavor, but mine turned out too watery. I'll use less water and perhaps more rice in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Lambart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This soup had a very unique taste! I found it difficult to skim all the chicken fat, and for that reason I think my soup had too much of an "oily" texture. I loved the lemon taste though, and will definitely make this again! I served this at a staff meeting and those brave enough to try something new really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was good, and similar but not quite the same as the soup I've had in Greek restaurants. The broth seemed too thin even though I was careful not to use too much water. I will probably make this again, but next time I'll use just half the chicken recommended, and sprinkle some fresh parsley on top right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States