Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was really pleased to locate this recipe. I make this soup at least once every few months and lost the original recipe. My mother really loves it when I make this for them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Really great tasting and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This ended up being less flavorful than I expected. It wasn't bad, it just felt like it needed more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this is my all time favorite soup! i remember my mom making it since when i was little and now i'm making it and friends and family love it! the only difference is that mom used to throw in there a couple of carrots, a small parsley root and a small parsnip (everything cut in small dices). and it took me years to actually learn to make it, because when i had my mom near me she would do it, but now that we're a world apart it was my turn. :-) and i absolutely love it! the lemony taste and the thickness from the eggs... for me it is the perfect soup! (and i'm not greek!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
It was okay. Good soup, but nothing special. I grew up eating Avgolemono soup (I'm Greek), and this definitely didn't recreate that experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Wonderful flavor, wonderful texture, all around a great soup. I might add some more rice next time but other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This soup had a great flavor, but mine turned out too watery. I'll use less water and perhaps more rice in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Lambart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This soup had a very unique taste! I found it difficult to skim all the chicken fat, and for that reason I think my soup had too much of an "oily" texture. I loved the lemon taste though, and will definitely make this again! I served this at a staff meeting and those brave enough to try something new really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was good, and similar but not quite the same as the soup I've had in Greek restaurants. The broth seemed too thin even though I was careful not to use too much water. I will probably make this again, but next time I'll use just half the chicken recommended, and sprinkle some fresh parsley on top right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was really good and just what I was looking for. The only thing that I did differently is when I bolied my chicken I added onion powder, garlic powder and some salt. I also added just a small pinch of Oregano to the soup when I added in the salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States