Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Really good. Careful with the lemon... 2 was pretty strong. Had to dilute with chicken broth and a couple more eggs. Try one, then add the second if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Nice and easy. My kind of recipe! Tasted much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Super delicious. I like a lot of lemon, but if you are not a giant lemon fan 1-1.5 might be enough. Lots of black fresh cracked pepper is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
The 1st time I had this soup was probably 30 years ago at a local restaurant that was run by a Greek gentleman who was known locally for the great steaks and salad dressing. I fell in love with this soup and this recipe is right on. Must use fresh lemons for that light citrusy taste. This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Hi Dimitra, just like my mom's) please edit your description of the soup Augolemono means egg and lemon not broth and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I have had this Soup Home made in a Greek family kitchen and it is the BOMB!!! the only thing different was the rice it was Big white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is the first time I've tried making it and I was worried about tempering the eggs wrong and ending up with scrambled eggs in my soup! The end result was a thickened beautiful soup. The only reason it got three stars was I juiced the lemons and put it in without tasting it...I think my lemons were not good or it was too much juice because it was way too tart. will start with one lemon then maybe add another :) was still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Really yummy. I didn't have a whole chicken so I used 4 bone-in chicken thighs, and used less water and rice. Still used 2 lemons but only 2 eggs. Very tasty and tangy - next time I'll use 3 eggs. The only thing I messed up was not adding enough broth SLOWLY to the lemon-egg mixture, before mixing it in with the rest of the soup. As a result, the egg white cooked and was left floating around in little chunks. Not pretty, but it tasted just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Tastes exactly like ya-ya's...I've been trying to find this recipe EVERYWHERE and I finally found the exact recipe too. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I used 5 bone-in chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken since I prefer chicken breasts. But, this is really great! A blond soup like this needs a good grind of black pepper. Leftovers were a little thick, easy to thin with a bit of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States