Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very tasty. Make sure to fully beat the egg and lemon, and follow directions to slowly ladle broth into egg mixture to avoid scrambled egg bits in your soup. Good recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent avgolemono! My husband LOVES it! He'd never had it before I made it using this recipe, and it's spoiled him. He's tried it elsewhere and it's nowhere near as good. My only variation is the chicken. We buy a rotisserie chicken from big-box store. After having chicken the first night, we pull almost all of the chicken off the bones and save it for leftovers. I use the bones to make stock, using mirepoix & spices. Then the next day, I heat the stock, and continue with the recipe as written. I chop some of the leftover chicken and add it back into the soup at the last minute so it doesn't dry out. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estelle Blackwell Worden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hulita
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent favors and very lemony! I added a some garlic powder when cooking the chicken, but don't know if it really needed it. I also used two leg/thigh quarters instead of an entire chicken, because I bought the wrong thing. Ha! A good mistake as it tastes so good. I will do this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Hi, When I make my chicken stock, I always make the day before. I do take the chicken out of pot and then when the broth cools I put in the refrig. and the next day I skim the fat off the top and then make the soup. I do like my soup more brothie, then I do the rest, but make my rice on the side so it does not get so starchy also. I never cook the rice in broth. I always add at the end when I make the egg and lemon mixture in the broth, but that's me. I just love the broth, lemon and egg mixture and a little of rice. I love the broth of the soup and I always add more lemon. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Love this soup! The lemon brightens it up without being overwhelming. Fantastic! Made this recipe several times and also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly McGhee Goosby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Just like I remember from the Greek restaurants in Astoria Queen, NY. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hot Cookin' Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe is so simple and it comes out so yummy. I used three lemons though. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAT102178

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bill
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We loved this recipe. It was as good as any I have had in a restaurant. For ease, we used 3 cans of chicken broth and 4 boneless chicken breasts cubed(sorry purists) instead of boiling the whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Thought the seasononing was right on... however, I made this with orzo instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I am so thankful to have found this recipe. Lemon rice soup is my absolute favorite soup of all time, and this recipe tastes just like the way I would get it in a Greek restaurant. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States