Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipee was amazing, so creamy and rich. Thanks for submiting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My mom boils chicken for 2 hours. Also, at the step of beating the eggs with lemon juice, add 1.5 heaping TBSP of cornstarch. Beat with lemon juice and eggs. Continue with the ladeling to heat up the egg and lemon mix. My mom also adds just a bit more lemon for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Avyolemono is my favorite soup and we love it lemony. Even my boyfriend who has no Greek in him at all, loves it extra lemony. I use usually make 2 large pans at a time (they don't last long), I actually use a whole cup of lemon per pan, and I shred the chicken breasts into the soup. I have tried both Orzo and regular rice. My sister makes both kinds every Easter, and I prefer the regular rice. My favorite rice is the Uncle Ben's Converted rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agapimou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is just what I was looking for. My family loved it. I made my usual stock (which includes onion, carrot & celery) and because I had 12 cups of stock, I doubled the rice and added a third lemon. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It's not the best Avgolemono I've ever had but it's the best I've ever made. There is a Greek restaurant in my city that has the best avgolemono soup but I wanted to try to make it because it's so easy and cheap to make. It only cost me $10.00 to make this and that included bread for dipping in the soup, plus it made a lot so I have some in my freezer. Next time I'll add more rice and more lemon. I'll also add carrot, onion and celery to the water when boiling the chicken to made more of a broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My favorite soup! But if you really want to do it right...use orzo instead of rice. My mom used to make it both ways and the orzo way is much better IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I love lemon with chicken and I think I make killer chicken stock from scratch that has tons of flavor..& I love trying new things! I've never had Greek lemon soup before and I guess it's just not my thing. Maybe it's an acquired taste? I kept wanting to, I don't know, ....add salt? (no, it was salted right) ....add cream? (no, the egg makes it creamy) The only way I could enjoy the meal was to take a bite of something else to break it up a little. There's something about how the egg and the strong lemon taste overwhelm your mouth that made me feel like I was eating something from another culture, that I would have had to grow up with to love. (like hagus, or eskimo ice cream) If you have a raw chicken staring at you asking "So whaddaya wanna do?"....find another recipe. If you like greek lemon soup...it had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was really pleased to locate this recipe. I make this soup at least once every few months and lost the original recipe. My mother really loves it when I make this for them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Really great tasting and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This ended up being less flavorful than I expected. It wasn't bad, it just felt like it needed more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States