Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Tastes exactly like ya-ya's...I've been trying to find this recipe EVERYWHERE and I finally found the exact recipe too. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I used 5 bone-in chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken since I prefer chicken breasts. But, this is really great! A blond soup like this needs a good grind of black pepper. Leftovers were a little thick, easy to thin with a bit of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Yummo to the Tummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I thought the soup was very good, I did add onion, celery and carrots, for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli1966

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is exactly like my Greek friend, Maria, makes this soup. It's OK, but not quite to my liking. I need stronger flavours. So, here's what I did (for those that need that extra punch in a soup). I used a whole chicken, put it in a large pot, added just enough water to cover the chicken (a bit of the chicken was still above the water. This makes a stronger tasting broth). I added 3 carrots, 3 stalks of celery, a whole onion, a few garlic cloves, a parsnip, salt AND 4 packets of chicken bouillion. I simmered on low about 1 1/2 hours. Strained the broth, chopped up the chicken, saved the cooked veggies to eat later, and followed the recipe for the rest. It's such a refeshingly clear tasting soup. Never be afraid to alter a recipe. What's posted is one person's taste buds speaking and we're all different. Taste as you go... that's my rule. Enjoy. I'd suggest you cut back on the lemon to half, then taste and add more if you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHSUZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
So easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Yummy! I used the author's advice that this soup should be filling, salty and slightly sour and that's just how it came out. My husband's jaw is broken and presently wired shut, and I was looking for filling and protein-rich soups. The added eggs were just the thing. I did use orzo instead of rice as I have found rice just doesn't go through the blender very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Simply delicious! Only thing I would have changed, would be buy a better chicken. I had to use a tiny bit of boullioun because of a bland bird. Ratios and method are flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Too creamy for my taste but good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
YES!!!! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States