Grecian Green Beans in Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sutherland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I added smoked sausage and this was fantastic.... it sounds odd, but this really works as a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I've tried so many versions of this recipe trying to replicate the amazing greek style green beans in Chicago's Greektown restaurants which have rich and decadent sauces without tons of acidity -- this recipe comes close, but after so many tries and reading so many reviews, I made a few changes to this one as well. Sauteed on low to medium heat a very rounded cup of vidalia diced onion in about a generous 1/4 cup of olive oil. S&P the onion while cooking. Cook until translucent about 6-8 minutes. Carefully added 2 healthy size diced cloves of garlic for only 30 - 45 seconds [watch so it does not burn]. Drained and added one 28 ounce can of diced organic tomatoes, reserving the liquid. Added one small 8 ounce can of tomato sauce. To all of this, added about 1.5 tablespoon of dried oregano (rub in your hands to release the oils), ~ 1/8 cup of fresh parsley [just had the fresh on hand]. Little more S&P. Used 4 tablespoons of that reserved liquid here. Brought to a boil. Added 3 cans of organic [drained] green beans [trial and error with this recipe has sold me on canned green beans for the texture and they marry well with the other ingredients.] Add the lemon. AND, 2 tablespoons of sugar (pinch just doesn't do it for us). Simmered for 25-30 minutes at the very end it was still a little too acidic -- a chef once told me to add butter to reduce the acidity from tomato based sauces. Added 1 tablespoon butter. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I searched for this recipe after having the green beans in tomato sauce at the local greek restaurant. Made them for dinner last night, and definately spot on! The only addition I made was to add about 1/4-1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon, which I definately recommend adding. I served it with 1/4 cut roasted potatoes, homemade tzatziki, and pita bread. My extremely carnivorous boyfriend didn't even notice there was no meat or that it was a healthy meal. I will definately be serving this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
nice for a change. used 1/2 c olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I totally omitted a few things from this recipe since I didn't have everything on hand. I omitted the olive oil and lemon juice and I used canned green beans and these were still a nice twist to the same boring thing. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Tasted just like at a Greek restaurant...really easy too I used frozen beans and they were still really good. Nice fresh flavor from the citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
tried it and its awesome.. my wife and child loved it.. thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were fantastic. Will make again and again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Do not use 3/4 c. olive oil. This is way too much. I used 1/4 c. and it did not take away from the taste, and I probably could have used less. I also added 2 cloves of garlic and used the full can of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz. listed in the recipe. With these changes, the recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States