Grecian Green Beans in Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Soooo Yum!!! And healthy the way I made em', I cut waaaaay back on the oil, its not necessary! Used cooking spray to saute onions) Added some minced garlic, used chicken broth instead of water, & they came out GREAT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
it was really easy to make but i usually like my green beans on the crunchy side so simmering for 45 minutes was way too long for my taste. however, the sauce was really nice and i added some crushed red pepper flakes to give it a kick. not sure if the sauce would have been as mellow and sweet if i didn't simmer for 45 minutes. maybe next time i will simmer the sauce first and add the green beans in the last 15 minutes or so. the sauce never thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is a great recipe! I added a clove of garlic and a little cayenne pepper and used fresh parsley from the garden. This went great with our grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Do not use 3/4 c. olive oil. This is way too much. I used 1/4 c. and it did not take away from the taste, and I probably could have used less. I also added 2 cloves of garlic and used the full can of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz. listed in the recipe. With these changes, the recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
After reading reviews, this is what I did. Omitted the cup of water, sauce thickened nicely. Sauted 1 small sliced onion and 1 cup of sliced mushrooms in 1/4 cup of oil and added to the simmering sauce with 2 teasp. of minced garlic. Let simmer 1/2 hr., then added 3/4 lb. of fresh green beans and simmered about another 20 min. We like our veggies with a bit of crunch to them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Add some chopped garlic to taste.....I didn't use quite as much lemon juice, but it still came out quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendyla
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Very nice...I added a pinch of sugar to the sauce and extra lemon juice after it was done. Served with rice, it hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have been searching for this recipe for quite some time! I once tried a similar dish at a Greek Fair and I was forever hooked. The beans are so flavorful and they practically melt in your mouth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I searched for this recipe after having the green beans in tomato sauce at the local greek restaurant. Made them for dinner last night, and definately spot on! The only addition I made was to add about 1/4-1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon, which I definately recommend adding. I served it with 1/4 cut roasted potatoes, homemade tzatziki, and pita bread. My extremely carnivorous boyfriend didn't even notice there was no meat or that it was a healthy meal. I will definately be serving this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Tasted just like at a Greek restaurant...really easy too I used frozen beans and they were still really good. Nice fresh flavor from the citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States