Grecian Green Beans in Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Soooo Yum!!! And healthy the way I made em', I cut waaaaay back on the oil, its not necessary! Used cooking spray to saute onions) Added some minced garlic, used chicken broth instead of water, & they came out GREAT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
it was really easy to make but i usually like my green beans on the crunchy side so simmering for 45 minutes was way too long for my taste. however, the sauce was really nice and i added some crushed red pepper flakes to give it a kick. not sure if the sauce would have been as mellow and sweet if i didn't simmer for 45 minutes. maybe next time i will simmer the sauce first and add the green beans in the last 15 minutes or so. the sauce never thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is a great recipe! I added a clove of garlic and a little cayenne pepper and used fresh parsley from the garden. This went great with our grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Do not use 3/4 c. olive oil. This is way too much. I used 1/4 c. and it did not take away from the taste, and I probably could have used less. I also added 2 cloves of garlic and used the full can of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz. listed in the recipe. With these changes, the recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
After reading reviews, this is what I did. Omitted the cup of water, sauce thickened nicely. Sauted 1 small sliced onion and 1 cup of sliced mushrooms in 1/4 cup of oil and added to the simmering sauce with 2 teasp. of minced garlic. Let simmer 1/2 hr., then added 3/4 lb. of fresh green beans and simmered about another 20 min. We like our veggies with a bit of crunch to them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Add some chopped garlic to taste.....I didn't use quite as much lemon juice, but it still came out quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendyla
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Very nice...I added a pinch of sugar to the sauce and extra lemon juice after it was done. Served with rice, it hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have been searching for this recipe for quite some time! I once tried a similar dish at a Greek Fair and I was forever hooked. The beans are so flavorful and they practically melt in your mouth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Tasted just like at a Greek restaurant...really easy too I used frozen beans and they were still really good. Nice fresh flavor from the citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I searched for this recipe after having the green beans in tomato sauce at the local greek restaurant. Made them for dinner last night, and definately spot on! The only addition I made was to add about 1/4-1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon, which I definately recommend adding. I served it with 1/4 cut roasted potatoes, homemade tzatziki, and pita bread. My extremely carnivorous boyfriend didn't even notice there was no meat or that it was a healthy meal. I will definately be serving this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States