Grecian Green Beans in Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
tried it and its awesome.. my wife and child loved it.. thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were fantastic. Will make again and again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Do not use 3/4 c. olive oil. This is way too much. I used 1/4 c. and it did not take away from the taste, and I probably could have used less. I also added 2 cloves of garlic and used the full can of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz. listed in the recipe. With these changes, the recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
What a flavorful vegetable dish. I cooked for less time as I like my green beans crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
After reading reviews, this is what I did. Omitted the cup of water, sauce thickened nicely. Sauted 1 small sliced onion and 1 cup of sliced mushrooms in 1/4 cup of oil and added to the simmering sauce with 2 teasp. of minced garlic. Let simmer 1/2 hr., then added 3/4 lb. of fresh green beans and simmered about another 20 min. We like our veggies with a bit of crunch to them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe!!!! I only added 1/4 olive oil...as mentioned by another reviewer, and it came out perfectly. Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I could eat it but it was very bland. It was straight tomatoes. I don't know what flavors exactly it was lacking for me, but it was something. Guess it just wasn't the flavor I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was great! I only used about 2 teaspoons of olive oil to saute the onion in. The amount called for in the recipe was just way too much. Then instead of water, I used chicken broth. I also probably used 1/4 more liquid than the recipe called for. Instead of tomato paste and canned tomatoes, I used two vine-ripened tomatoes. This recipe was delicious. It tasted just like what they serve at a local Greek restaurant. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Tasted good and was pretty on the buffet. Everyone liked them. I used stewed tomatoes,no tomato sauce and fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is a great recipe! I added a clove of garlic and a little cayenne pepper and used fresh parsley from the garden. This went great with our grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States