Great Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
These were very bland. I will just stick with my tried and true. I cut the potatoes in half and scoop out holding the potato with a potholder. I use about 1/2 cup of butter, add sour cream, garlic salt, no egg, and a package of Concord Foods Potato toppers, and of course, the cheese, and then top with more cheese. I usually make them ahead of time, refrigerate, and then bake at 325F for 30 - 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Very good recipe! I added sour cream to the potato mixture, and I also topped the potato off with a dollop of sour cream and some bacon bits after baking. Here's a little short cut I used to cut down on prep time, I microwaved the potatoes first, then baked them for 10-15 mins to crisp up the skins, prepared the potato mixture, then baked them in the oven for the last 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
The most important suggestion I can make is to prepare these potatoes ahead of time before slicing off the top and scooping out the inside because they were wicked hot to handle! I really think I burned off my fingerprints on my left hand! Next time I would leave out the egg and probably add sour cream. The filling needs more seasoning also. I might try a packet of Ranch seasoning or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
After I made changes they were excellent. I used smaller potatoes (about fist size) and baked at 400 for 1 hour. I melted about 1/3 cup butter and sauted about 3 cloves of garlic and 3 green onions. I added about 4 tbsp milk to get all the yummy garlic flavor out. I added salt and pepper to the butter mixture and added about 1/4 cup sour cream to the potatoes. I mixed it all together with shredded cheddar cheese (1/4 cup). I topped the refilled shells with shredded mozzerella and sprinkled paprika on top. Baked again for 20 minutes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very simple to prepare and loaded with flavour. My husband didn't believe I made them because they looked so "picture perfect". I have a few twice-baked potato recipes, but I love this one for it's simplicity with great taste. Not a good side dish for nights when you need to fix something quick, but if you plan for it and remember to put the spuds into the oven at least an hour before you want to eat, you'll have an awesome addition to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
GREAT!!! I doubled the cheese and used Ranch Dressing instead of Milk. The only problem I had was that the oil on the skins gave me lots of smoke from the oven, i must have done something wrong there. but all in all great recipe! Everyone loved them - Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
To save on cooking time, cook the potatoes in the microwave for about 20 minutes and for added flavor add a clove or two of garlic and ranch dressing... my family loves it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Instead of milk I used sour cream. I also added some minced garlic, and crumbled bacon to the filling mixture. Really nice flavour. Smelled great too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
These are splendid! Prepare potatoes ahead of time to cut down on prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
The basic recipe was good, but it was really on the bland, dry side. Maybe my potatoes were too big, but I had to add alot more milk than called for and lots of extra butter, and garlic salt to make it taste better. . . suggest you do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States